Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
62 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Post 1 of 8
Accepted Solution

Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

552 Views, 7 Replies
08-22-2013 08:17 AM

Is it possible to provide hatch/fill to flex duct (as attached)?

Not directly, but it can be done by adding Duct Insulation to it and then targeting that with a View Filter. I created a new Type of Duct Insulation, called "Flex Hatch". When I applied it, I set the thickness to a minute size. If needed, Schedules can exclude this by filtering out this particular Type of Duct Insulation.

 

FlexDuctHatch.JPG

*Expert Elite*
3,502 Posts
1,007 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 2 of 8

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

08-22-2013 08:45 AM in reply to: %4seasons%

Not directly, but it can be done by adding Duct Insulation to it and then targeting that with a View Filter. I created a new Type of Duct Insulation, called "Flex Hatch". When I applied it, I set the thickness to a minute size. If needed, Schedules can exclude this by filtering out this particular Type of Duct Insulation.

 

FlexDuctHatch.JPG

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Contributor
62 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Post 3 of 8

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

08-28-2013 05:33 AM in reply to: CADastrophe
Hi Corey,

Is it possible to add insulation to flex duct as a default?
*Expert Elite*
3,502 Posts
1,007 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 4 of 8

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

08-28-2013 05:55 AM in reply to: %4seasons%

I don't think that's possible, unfortunately.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
134 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-20-2014
Post 5 of 8

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

04-07-2014 06:14 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Hi Corey,

 

I just came to the same issue..

 

I made a fiter for flex ducts by selecting flex ducts and defining pattern as attached...

 

Could you please explain why it doesnt work? I am trying to make it work without adding isulation to the flex.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
3,502 Posts
1,007 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 6 of 8

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

04-08-2014 06:20 AM in reply to: Mehdi.Kardehi

On a Plan View, Flex Duct is not represented by actual geometry, but rather a symbolic Flex Pattern, so there is simply no visible surface to inherit the Surface Hatch Pattern. However, the Insulation placed upon Flex Duct is represented by actual geometry, hence this work-around.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
134 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-20-2014
Post 7 of 8

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

04-15-2014 08:48 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Hey Correy,

 

What pattern have you used to achieve above hexagonal look? I dont have it in mine and cant make it using pattern creators like http://www.revitlog.nl/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=382:revithatchbuilder-englisch&c...

 

 

Cheers,

M

*Expert Elite*
3,502 Posts
1,007 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 8 of 8

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

04-16-2014 05:17 AM in reply to: Mehdi.Kardehi

One can set the "Flex Pattern" of a segment of Flex Duct under the element's Properties, and it must be done on an "instance" basis. the The available patterns of Flex Duct are hard-coded, and you are limited to what the software offers. The one I used in the above image is "Flex 2".

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!