Revit MEP

Reply
Active Contributor
mikael
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
Message 1 of 3 (128 Views)

Error when setting primary Design Option

128 Views, 2 Replies
12-10-2013 11:34 PM

Hi,

 

I have run in to problem with Design Option. When I try to change the primary option I get a error message, see picture below or picture attatched.

It says "Elements can't be duplicated".

Any idea of how to solve this?

 

Regards

Mikael

 

Revit_error_ScreenShot.jpg

Active Contributor
mikael
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
Message 2 of 3 (117 Views)

Re: Error when setting primary Design Option

12-11-2013 12:57 AM in reply to: mikael

Found a solution to the problem. Not what I really was looking for, but saved the work put down.

 

Followed these instructions:

http://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2014/ENU/?guid=GUID-D1FC2B97-E176-4335-B244-D57940AC40E0

 

Still a problem that we can't keep working in that design option though.

 

So any ideas would be nice.

 

Mikael

Distinguished Contributor
thewrz
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 3 of 3 (92 Views)

Re: Error when setting primary Design Option

12-11-2013 10:02 PM in reply to: mikael
Dude: You're better off using Model Groups. Design Options are absolute rubbish for MEP designers/engineers. Most of the time, a full Duct, Electrical, or Piping system comprises all components of a system throughout the entire building. If you have an alternate bid item, or some other design option, in order to make it "work" you really need to just copy the ENTIRE system/model elements/etc into their own design option. This would be a nightmare to manage. A NIGHTMARE. Because If you have say, one or two boilers that both need piping and electrical systems connected to them in a particular alternate bid... in order for the "design option" to work correctly, you'd have to make a copy of the entire model to show the alternate. Now imagine doing routine design changes (oh let's route this pipe here instead) and trying to replicate that in 2-3 different design options. Nightmarish stuff. In Revit 2013 specifically, you can create systems, and you can add models to design options, and those systems wills till work. BUT. Once an item is in a design option... you can't connect it up with any main-model equipment. TL;DR: **** design options for anything but the most basic of stuff. Once you really get into modeling duct systems and electrical distribution systems, they are to be avoided like the plague.
____________________________________________________
Please give kudos to the MEP Wish List ideas you like, as this will help the Revit development team prioritize functionality additions!
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.