Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
rwalewski
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2008
Message 1 of 9 (552 Views)
Accepted Solution

Electrical Circuit Issue and HVAC Systems MEP 2012

552 Views, 8 Replies
07-11-2012 10:56 AM

Platform MEP2012 update 2.

We're experiencing an issue when circuiting VAV boxes that are part of a mechanical system. When adding more than one VAV to a circuit  all the VAVs on the mechanical system are added to the circuit. The same family when not on a system allows circuiting more than one to a circuit. Anyone experience this. Want to avoid work around of placing j-box for each VAV.

This is a known issue that is logged with our Development group. Basically, the physical connection is winning, so anything physically connected to an element (via pipes, and ducts) will be added to the same circuit if one element on the system is moved to another circuit.

 

As I mentioned this is an issue we are actively working to fix.

 

One workaround we have found, is to remove unwanted VAVs from the circuit before finishing the circuit. We understand that this may not be the preferred workflow, but we are actively working to fix this issue.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,325
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 9 (549 Views)

Re: Electrical Circuit Issue and HVAC Systems MEP 2012

07-11-2012 12:03 PM in reply to: rwalewski

I haven't tried to recreate the situation, but can you edit the circuit and remove one of the VAV boxes from it?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
rwalewski
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2008
Message 3 of 9 (543 Views)

Re: Electrical Circuit Issue and HVAC Systems MEP 2012

07-11-2012 01:23 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

When using remove from circuit it works but when the next circuit is created it grabs the previously circuited objects on the system.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,325
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 9 (540 Views)

Re: Electrical Circuit Issue and HVAC Systems MEP 2012

07-11-2012 01:37 PM in reply to: rwalewski

So, as a momentary work-around method, can you create a new circuit from a "dummy" device, edit the circuit and add one of the VAV boxes, and then delete the dummy device?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
rwalewski
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2008
Message 5 of 9 (534 Views)

Re: Electrical Circuit Issue and HVAC Systems MEP 2012

07-11-2012 08:47 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

We ended having to put a connector element family on the VAV and duplicate the type mark. Any mech object that is on a system will not circuit individually. I even happens with pluumbing systems. Tried to circuit a water heater and it grabbed all the plubming fixtures on the system even tho they don't have elecrtical connector. This happend because the water lines were part of the system.  Seems like another bug.

Thanks for answer.

Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 6 of 9 (517 Views)

Re: Electrical Circuit Issue and HVAC Systems MEP 2012

07-13-2012 01:20 PM in reply to: rwalewski

Are you sharing the same file with mechanical or do you have multiple files?

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 7 of 9 (500 Views)

Re: Electrical Circuit Issue and HVAC Systems MEP 2012

07-16-2012 08:54 AM in reply to: rwalewski

This is a known issue that is logged with our Development group. Basically, the physical connection is winning, so anything physically connected to an element (via pipes, and ducts) will be added to the same circuit if one element on the system is moved to another circuit.

 

As I mentioned this is an issue we are actively working to fix.

 

One workaround we have found, is to remove unwanted VAVs from the circuit before finishing the circuit. We understand that this may not be the preferred workflow, but we are actively working to fix this issue.

 

 



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Active Member
rwalewski
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2008
Message 8 of 9 (487 Views)

Re: Electrical Circuit Issue and HVAC Systems MEP 2012

07-16-2012 11:30 AM in reply to: Chris.Aquino
This is big issue not present in 2011. It seems to be related to another case we have related to permissions [CaseNo:07393821.] Revit MEP 2012 Recurring Problem of Worksharing. Quinn is working with our BIM manager. In that case a user is randomly borrowing an element that the user is not working with. This keeps bouncing between users. Users have to constantly request and relinquish ownership. Sync to Central Loop.
Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 9 of 9 (398 Views)

Re: Electrical Circuit Issue and HVAC Systems MEP 2012

09-13-2012 01:39 AM in reply to: rwalewski

We were able to reproduce this in 2012, but unable to using the same steps in 2013 with Update 1. This video shows 2012 on the left, and 2013 on the right: http://screencast.com/t/KVYMqJtK6el If you are still seeing this issue in 2013, please provide more information so we can identify the problem. Thanks,



Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.