Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
RandMan
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 1 of 4 (596 Views)

Duplicate instances of linked models

596 Views, 3 Replies
06-14-2012 09:19 AM

Why do we have duplicate instances of our linked model files?  Only one instance is displayed under the "Manage Links" dialogue, but two are actually there, as displayed under "Visibility Graphics".  I have searched, but found no other mention of this problem.  This pertains to Revit MEP 2012; haven't yet checked this in 2013 version.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 4 (585 Views)

Re: Duplicate instances of linked models

06-14-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: RandMan

When a Revit Model is linked into your project, it is automatically designated as "1", which is reflected in the expanded list under the Link's heading (REF #1 in the image below). If a second Revit Model is linked in, that one is designated as "2", and so on. Eliminating a Link does NOT reset this count.

 

There is only one instance of the first link in your model. If a Link is mistakenly or intentionally copied or if it is linked in again, then it adds another instance with a new number designation, reflected by additional lines under the heading. So if your model existing multiple times, it would be seen as per the image, REF #2.

 

Your last link is designated as "8" which means it is the eighth Link to enter your project, regardless if previous Links were deleted or removed. But is does indicate that only a single instance exists in your model. (REF #3)

 

As for the Display Settings, the button controls the BASE Visibility Settings for that Link. The button next to the first instance controls the visibility OVERRIDES for THAT instance. Since there is only a single instance, this is redundant. (REF #4). You third Link is correct, but your first link reads "Custom". You can disable this override within that option.

 

duplicate links.jpg

 

Confusing, huh? I think one of my co-workers suffered permanent sanity damage from this! Just ask if you need any more info!

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Contributor
RandMan
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 3 of 4 (579 Views)

Re: Duplicate instances of linked models

06-14-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thanks, I may have to read through your response several times to really get it.  We would like to get rid of the second line, but sounds like Revit always adds it.  If I want to change visibility in the Arch model for example, I need to change in both places.  ( I could be wrong about that), regardless, visibility graphic settings only seem to effect the second line.

 

By "base setting" do mean for every view in the project?  I thought VG was vew-specific. 

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 4 (576 Views)

Re: Duplicate instances of linked models

06-14-2012 02:02 PM in reply to: RandMan

You're right, but by "base setting" I mean the link primary override settings, which are controlled by the button above REF #4.

 

I think this is best explained through example:

 

In my model, I have a Linked Revit Project "ArchLink". When I first create a View, there are no override settings for the link yet - it will follow the current View's V/G settings.

 

Now, I decide that I must turn off a couple of the architect's categories in the link. In going into V/G and then to the Revit Links tab, I will see "ArchLink" and under Display Settings, it reads "By Host View". By changing this, only the display of that particular link is affect. This we all know.

 

At this moment, "ArchLink" is collapsed in V/G, Revit Links tab, and will appear exactly as your second one does, as per the previous image ("136SAMS_MERCH.rvt"). If you expand this, you will find that it reads "Not Overridden" under Display Settings. There is only a single line entry for this link, because I have only one instance in my project.

 

Now, say for some reason (I can't even come up with a valid one), I must have TWO instances of "ArchLink" in my project, side-by-side. If I go to V/G and to Revit Links tab under "ArchLink", I can click the V/G overrides for that link. This will affect BOTH instances of "ArchLink".

 

Now, say I need to have SEPARATE V/G display settings for each of the instances of "ArchLink". In order to do that, I would go to Display Settings for one or both of the instances, which would be "1" and "2" under "ArchLink". This setting is an override to the override. So if I customize the V/G settings for both "1" and "2", then the V/G overrides for "ArchLink" are being overridden by the instance overrides of "1" and "2".

 

So..If you have a single instance of your Links in your Project, the instance override should read "Not Overridden". You can click on that, and there is a checkbox that says "Override display settings for this instance". Clear it.

 

***Note - I have found that if you select an element within a Link (by hitting Tab) and use "VH" to hide the Category, it automatically opens up that second "Custom" setting, as per REF #1 in the previous image. Do not use "VH" on embedded elements!

 

If there is anything that doesn't make sense to you still, don't worry, just ask! Happy to help!

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.