Revit MEP

Reply
Mentor
michaelmead
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 1 of 7 (238 Views)

Duct tagging

238 Views, 6 Replies
10-24-2012 03:23 PM

Is there a way to tag all my ducts and pipes in a certain view at once? Like with a single command? I have the proper tags loaded, is there a way to associat a certain tag as a default tag then simply have revit tag everything from a few select categories at one time? Or do I have to tage everything manually? Thanks,

Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 2 of 7 (235 Views)

Re: Duct tagging

10-24-2012 04:26 PM in reply to: michaelmead

In revit mep 2012, i believe there is a tag all button under the annotate tab.  Not sure whether it understands the difference between round and rectangular ducts + whether or not you have one tag that allows for both.  Also remember that revit might place the tag in a bad location.  I usually just type TG and tag stuff manually, it's fairly simple.

Mentor
michaelmead
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 3 of 7 (231 Views)

Re: Duct tagging

10-24-2012 05:12 PM in reply to: Sandleaz

Yeah the tag all button is just that, it tags everything that does not discriminate. I want to tag two things, not all of my VAV boxes and whatnot, not air terminals and the whole 9 yards. I just want to tag a couple things. Any ideas?

Active Contributor
tim.winnington
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 4 of 7 (226 Views)

Re: Duct tagging

10-24-2012 07:04 PM in reply to: michaelmead

Yes there is a tag All option under Annotate Tab.  It is extremely indiscriminate and will tag ALL objects with the selected tag within that category for a particular open view.  At times it can cause more problems as there is no control on location it just tags everything but it does certainly have its use.

Active Contributor
tim.winnington
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 5 of 7 (225 Views)

Re: Duct tagging

10-24-2012 07:08 PM in reply to: michaelmead

You can use it to place the grille tags on all grilles only you just need to select that Category and tag and Apply.

 

Alternatively there is an option to Apply only to selected objects in which you could select everything in a plantroom and all all Mark Numbers to Mechanical Equipement.

Mentor
michaelmead
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 6 of 7 (201 Views)

Re: Duct tagging

10-25-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: michaelmead

Hey, yeah i figured it was probably this easy, but mine doesnt work like that. Ive attached a picture of the Tag All menu that I am getting, which is confusing because it wont let me select, or unselect anything in there. Double clicking, right clicking, nothing works. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 7 of 7 (198 Views)

Re: Duct tagging

10-25-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: michaelmead

michaelmead wrote:

"...it wont let me select, or unselect anything in there. Double clicking, right clicking, nothing works. Any suggestions?"


Select the elements prior to activating the 'Tag All' command.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.