Revit MEP

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
plawton5092
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-18-2008
Message 1 of 4 (251 Views)
Accepted Solution

Duct - level associations

251 Views, 3 Replies
10-11-2012 08:31 AM

Small but expensive problem:  Every time we draw a duct, it associates to a particular level, which we don’t want to use and that we have to spend time changing.

 

Is there a default setting somewhere in the bowels?  Thanks

The duct will normally refernce from the associated level for the view.  If you select duct and change the refernce level it will maintain the reference level until you revert back.  The other option would be to create a view associated to the required level and model through this view.

Active Contributor
tim.winnington
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 2 of 4 (236 Views)

Re: Duct - level associations

10-11-2012 08:50 PM in reply to: plawton5092

The duct will normally refernce from the associated level for the view.  If you select duct and change the refernce level it will maintain the reference level until you revert back.  The other option would be to create a view associated to the required level and model through this view.

Active Member
DrewH09
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-27-2012
Message 3 of 4 (224 Views)

Re: Duct - level associations

10-12-2012 08:22 AM in reply to: plawton5092

Go to insert a new duct, but before actually placing the duct on the plan, change the Reference Level in the properties box.

Distinguished Contributor
plawton5092
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-18-2008
Message 4 of 4 (213 Views)

Re: Duct - level associations

10-12-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: plawton5092

Thanks tim.winnington for "The other option would be to create a view associated to the required level and model through this view."

 

Yes, the nuclear solution is the only one available, apparently. 

 

I can understand why autodesk would not be able to provide the users with another check box to alter this setting .... after all, there are no check boxes left on the planet, because autodesk has used them all up for revit visibility controls.

 

Thanks again.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.