Revit MEP

Reply
Active Contributor
max.a.hollander
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎04-16-2011
Message 1 of 7 (317 Views)

Duct Family Edit

317 Views, 6 Replies
08-02-2012 09:24 AM

I need to edit a duct family.

Revit currently does not automatically instal hangers or duct breaks to a running duct length.

 

i want to edit the duct family to add these two items since that is how they will actually be installed.

 

Please help!!

Valued Mentor
julianjameson8403
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎06-16-2010
Message 2 of 7 (311 Views)

Re: Duct Family Edit

08-02-2012 10:54 AM in reply to: max.a.hollander

It's not possible to edit a system family to do things like this.

 

To achieve these sort of tasks you either have to do it manually or by some form of plug-in which access the API functionality.

Check the web for a hanger tool as someone has probably made one that allows ducts to be supported at specific lengths

If my reply answers your query, please use the Accept as Solution.
Please give Kudos as appropriate to enhance the value of these forums.

Thank you!
Active Contributor
max.a.hollander
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎04-16-2011
Message 3 of 7 (242 Views)

Re: Duct Family Edit

08-22-2012 04:37 PM in reply to: julianjameson8403

How do you add Joint in duct work that represents the joint between each duck length?

 

In Auto cad this is fairly easy, you can specify how long each peice of duct is with duct length and it will break it to how ever long you want your individual piece of duct to be.

 

 

please let me Know.

 

-Max

Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 769
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 4 of 7 (235 Views)

Re: Duct Family Edit

08-23-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: max.a.hollander

Split the duct, It places a union.  That is the only way.  I wish we could edit the duct and add stuff like this, but then, Consultants typically do not worry about these (They are specified, but not on the drawings).

Active Contributor
max.a.hollander
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎04-16-2011
Message 5 of 7 (231 Views)

Re: Duct Family Edit

08-23-2012 08:34 AM in reply to: max.a.hollander

I found this but i dont understand why is is not in revit already

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PdliBu3sa8I&feature=player_embedded

Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 769
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 6 of 7 (222 Views)

Re: Duct Family Edit

08-23-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: max.a.hollander

Having MEP in Revit opened a huge can of worms for autodesk.  They have a lot of work to do to be able to include EVERY object that is included in a building and for EVERY party to be able to utilize Revit in thier own way.  Like I said, We spec the hangers and unions, but don't show them on drawings.  It would equal more work and cluttered drawings for us consultants.  This would be good for shop drawings, they could take our model and use that add-on to get the segments and schedule them.

Active Contributor
max.a.hollander
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎04-16-2011
Message 7 of 7 (89 Views)

Re: Duct Family Edit

08-05-2013 09:42 AM in reply to: asommer

When do you think they will add these asspect since autodesk has recently purchased cad duct?

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.