Revit MEP

Reply
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 1 of 9 (575 Views)

Demolished Rooms/Spaces

575 Views, 8 Replies
10-12-2011 06:23 AM

Rooms and Spaces only have a "Phase Created" parameter so the new spaces show up on our demolition drawings, which are set to the New Construction phase, of course. We are looking for a way of showing the architect's room names/numbers on our demo drawings that's more efficient than creating an existing room view and overlaying it. Has anyone discovered a good method?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
albim10
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-21-2011
Message 2 of 9 (558 Views)

Re: Demolished Rooms/Spaces

10-12-2011 01:08 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

In Revit 2012 you can now tag architectural rooms through the linked architectural model into your views.  You can even do it with the "Tag All" tool.

 

Hope this helps!

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 9 (554 Views)

Re: Demolished Rooms/Spaces

10-12-2011 01:33 PM in reply to: albim10

That's a good suggestion, however, the issue lies more with the phasing. If the link's phase is set to existing, we get the existing room names we're after, but we lose the demolished architecture.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
albim10
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-21-2011
Message 4 of 9 (552 Views)

Re: Demolished Rooms/Spaces

10-12-2011 01:46 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Usually, after mapping ythe Phases from your model with the Phases from the linked arch model, everything should show properly in your views according to the Phase property assigned to your views.  You do this by accessing the type properties of the linked arch model then clicking on the Edit button on the Phase Mapping Parameter Value.  See attached image.

 

Hope this helps!

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 5 of 9 (525 Views)

Re: Demolished Rooms/Spaces

10-13-2011 05:20 AM in reply to: albim10

Everything maps out and does appear properly - the only issue lies with the demolition views. The view's phase must be set to "New Contruction" with the Phase Filter set to "Show Previous + Demo" to show the demo info. Since the view's phase is set to New Construction, only the rooms on that phase show up, which are the new rooms. We want to show the rooms from the Existing phase on these demolition plans.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 9 (445 Views)

Re: Demolished Rooms/Spaces

12-01-2011 05:21 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Just looking to reiterate this question one more time since our solutions are, like many others, an absolute pain and terrible investment of time. Thanks.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 7 of 9 (442 Views)

Re: Demolished Rooms/Spaces

12-01-2011 06:39 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

I know when I had a job with 3 "new construction" phases, I had to place spaces for 1st phase and copy them to 2nd and third phase.  you might have to place the demolition spaces in the demolition phase.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 9 (436 Views)

Re: Demolished Rooms/Spaces

12-01-2011 07:45 AM in reply to: asommer

The Spaces are attributed to an Architectural Link and the spaces are in the demolition phase. Our Existing views are fine, but our Demo views have to be set to the New Construction Phase, which then eliminates the existing Spaces. Is anyone showing room numbers at all on their Demo drawings in Revit?

 

Example of what I'm running into: Room 101 and Room 102 and being combined into Room 103 by demolishing a joining wall.

The Spaces for 101 & 102 are placed under the Existing Phase, and Space for 103 is placed under the New Construction Phase. There is no parameter for Phase Demolished for Spaces or Rooms. In a demo view, I have to set the Phase to "New Construction" and Phase Filter to "Show Previous + Demo". Thus, the Space for the new Room 103 is showing up, not 101 and 102 like I want.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 9 of 9 (434 Views)

Re: Demolished Rooms/Spaces

12-01-2011 08:40 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Oh yeah, I forgot.  The architect has to place the rooms in each phase the same way you want to.  If you want to see the room name & number in demo phase, they need to place rooms in thier demo phase.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.