Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
mikeyj32867
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 1 of 10 (2,028 Views)
Accepted Solution

Conduit Run Parameters

2028 Views, 9 Replies
05-01-2012 04:28 AM

I have noticed that the only parameter that holds from conduit and conduit fittings to conduit run is comments.  I have tried to create a new shared parameter for the three categories, but it doesn't transfer from conduit and conduit fittings over to conduit runs.  I am trying to add and Id parameter that can be scheduled and used along side of the conduit run lengths.  We already use the comments to hold the panel information.  Any suggestions?

 

Thanks,

Mikej

mikej

You are correct in that Shared Parameters are not going to pull the Panel Name or Run Name/Number, because they don't have a formula telling them to do so. At this time, only the conduit fittings are user editable families, so you will have to enter the Parameter values manually.

 

To request a change in functionality, this link is setup for you to submit feature requests, or feedback, directly to our Development group.

 

I encourage you to use the feedback link as our Development group is always interested and would like to hear your feedback directly, since you are better suited to state the business case for a feature request.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,286
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 10 (2,017 Views)

Re: Conduit Run Parameters

05-01-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: mikeyj32867

You are correct, as there are no other common Parameters. Except.... "Type"! In this work-around, you will have to create a separate Conduit Type for each run. You do NOT have to do the same with the Conduit Fittings. Add "Type Name" to the Label in the Conduit Tag, and you can create a Conduit Run Schedule by "Type". See example image below:

 

ConduitSchedules.JPG

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Contributor
mikeyj32867
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 3 of 10 (2,010 Views)

Re: Conduit Run Parameters

05-01-2012 09:55 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

I thought about that approach, but we use the types for the type of conduit, Rigid, EMT, IMC, PVC etc.

mikej
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,286
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 10 (2,005 Views)

Re: Conduit Run Parameters

05-01-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: mikeyj32867

My brief investigations lead me to believe that this is the only other common factor that would work here. As you mentioned in the beginning, adding Project or Shared Parameters will not work.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 394
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 5 of 10 (1,967 Views)

Re: Conduit Run Parameters

05-10-2012 07:53 AM in reply to: mikeyj32867

During my testing I was able to apply a Shared Parameter to Conduit, Conduit Fittings, and Conduit Runs, so that the runs and individual elements can show the run name.

 

Here is a short video:

 

http://screencast.com/t/LTCasNHQZ



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Valued Mentor
dennis
Posts: 708
Registered: ‎07-29-2005
Message 6 of 10 (1,951 Views)

Re: Conduit Run Parameters

05-11-2012 06:35 AM in reply to: Chris.Aquino

Chris, thanks for the video.  Here is what I see as the problem, maybe not exactly what CAD and Mike were talking about, but nonetheless:

Example One: Add a shared parameter called "Panel Name" and another call "Conduit Run Name" applied to Conduit, Conduit Fittings, and Conduit Runs:

1) The panel name will not pass from the panel to the connecting piece of conduit.  

2) Enter the Panel Name manually on the connecting piece of conduit, it will not pass the info down the conduit run.

3) Tab-select the entire conduit run, enter the Panel Name, does pass the info down to the individual pieces.  Do the same for Conduit Run Name.

4) Toggle a conduit bend to a box, or make any other additions to the conduit run, the Panel Name info we know will not pass down, nor will the Conduit Run Name be added to the new pieces.

 

Possibly something similar to Systems for duct and pipe could be added for conduit to make this less manual and more automated.

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 394
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 7 of 10 (1,921 Views)

Re: Conduit Run Parameters

05-15-2012 09:24 AM in reply to: dennis

You are correct in that Shared Parameters are not going to pull the Panel Name or Run Name/Number, because they don't have a formula telling them to do so. At this time, only the conduit fittings are user editable families, so you will have to enter the Parameter values manually.

 

To request a change in functionality, this link is setup for you to submit feature requests, or feedback, directly to our Development group.

 

I encourage you to use the feedback link as our Development group is always interested and would like to hear your feedback directly, since you are better suited to state the business case for a feature request.



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
New Member
vanboon2970
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-24-2011
Message 8 of 10 (1,238 Views)

Re: Conduit Run Parameters

08-29-2013 02:29 PM in reply to: Chris.Aquino

Chris,

 

I was unable to replicate the steps you took. I made a new shared parameter file, added the new group & parameter, added this in the project paramater and applied it to conduit, conduit run, and conduit fitting. I made sure the types were all the same (common/text group).

 

I drew the conduit with conduits without fitting. I populated the new text field I added.

 

For scheduling using multiple, the new field I made shows up with the populated info.

However, when I make a schedule just for conduit run, the field shows up but the data is not populated. I am unable to get any custom parameter to show up in Conduit Run schedules.

 

Please advise. Using Revit 2013.


Regards,


Van

New Member
vanboon2970
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-24-2011
Message 9 of 10 (1,227 Views)

Re: Conduit Run Parameters

08-30-2013 06:29 AM in reply to: Chris.Aquino

I looks like there are two fields for conduit-run (custom parameter) that you have to populate. That is why you are able to have it show up "again" in the conduit run schedule from the multiple qty schedule. But looks like basically there are no shared parameter between conduit/conduit fittings and conduit run except for comments and types. Autodesk PLEASE :smileyhappy: in Revit 2014 maybe??

Valued Mentor
smbrennan85
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 10 of 10 (1,050 Views)

Re: Conduit Run Parameters

10-21-2013 01:18 PM in reply to: vanboon2970

Van,

 

Please use the appropriate form that was referenced for requesting a new feature. The biggest problem I have is people wanting changes, but not making an official request that Autodesk tracks.

 

To make a request, please go here:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

 

Spread the word! We'll never get the intelligence we want if we don't ask for it.

Shawn B.

Follow me on Twitter @That85CADGuy.  ||    Connect with me on Linkedin.
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to provide feedback.
To help improve the use of these Forums, please  Accept As Solution and  Give Kudos.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.