Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing the length of an object

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
mjlutz
1107 Views, 7 Replies

Changing the length of an object

I have moved from my trail version to a full version of Revit.  I am very new to the 3D world and need to get some advise. 

Enlit was very kind to provide a finished soltion to an issue had with a file that I could not change the length on .  I need to change the length on three other objects that can scale from 2’ to 20’.  I am not sure how to redraw the objects as Enline suggested to acoomplish what I need to do. 

If someone could point me in the right direction it would greatly appreactied.  I need to include these items on a project and need to try to understand the process as quckly as I can. 

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Thomas
in reply to: mjlutz

I noticed that the 3D model in the families are an "Imported Symbol".  This makes me think that they were created in another software and brought in as a raw 3D block.  If that's the case then you can't really do much in terms of editing it.

The good news is it should be pretty easy to remake the models.  Go into the Front view and create an extrusion, then just trace the profile. (Use can use the pick line feature to save time.)  When done you will have an extrusion with the profile of the imported symbol.  Then in the Plan view you can lock the front and back of the extrusion to reference planes, put on a dimension, set the dimension to an instance based parameter, and you're done.  In the project you can change them as will.  If you only want set lengths just don't make it instance based and set it for each Type that you want.  Hope this helps.

Message 3 of 8
mjlutz
in reply to: Thomas

Thomas,