Revit MEP

Revit MEP

Reply
Active Contributor
bluelion
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
Message 1 of 8 (784 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cant see anything have exported IFC file from CAD Duct opened in Revit 2013

784 Views, 7 Replies
01-10-2013 10:21 PM

Have exported from Fabrication MEP from Auto CAD (A.K.A CAD DUCT) to an IFC file. It can be opened in Revit MEP 2013 although NOT Revit 2013.

 

Any Ideas? 

Todd Barry (Mechanical Design Engineer)

Sydney, Australia
Mob: 0438 479 967

E: tbarry@fredon.com.au or toddbarry7@gmail.com


*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,230
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 8 (754 Views)

Re: Cant see anything have exported IFC file from CAD Duct opened in Revit 2013

01-11-2013 01:09 PM in reply to: bluelion
Strange. Can you open the file in Revit MEP 2013, save it as a Project file, and then open that Project it in Revit 2013?
Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
bluelion
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
Message 3 of 8 (746 Views)

Re: Cant see anything have exported IFC file from CAD Duct opened in Revit 2013

01-11-2013 07:42 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

No mate have not tried that. All we have is Revit 2013 its a complete package with Architectural, Structural and MEP in the one package.

 

How do I open it in Revit 2013 MEP? Do I need any new software?

Todd Barry (Mechanical Design Engineer)

Sydney, Australia
Mob: 0438 479 967

E: tbarry@fredon.com.au or toddbarry7@gmail.com


*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,230
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 8 (714 Views)

Re: Cant see anything have exported IFC file from CAD Duct opened in Revit 2013

01-14-2013 05:34 AM in reply to: bluelion

bluelion wrote:

"No mate have not tried that. All we have is Revit 2013 its a complete package with Architectural, Structural and MEP in the one package.

 

How do I open it in Revit 2013 MEP? Do I need any new software?"


Below is what you stated in your original post - how did you discover that it could be opened in Revit MEP 2013 if you do not have it?


bluelion wrote:

"...It can be opened in Revit MEP 2013 although NOT Revit 2013."


Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
bluelion
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
Message 5 of 8 (705 Views)

Re: Cant see anything have exported IFC file from CAD Duct opened in Revit 2013

01-14-2013 11:03 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Sorry it should say Revit Mep 2012 lol

Todd Barry (Mechanical Design Engineer)

Sydney, Australia
Mob: 0438 479 967

E: tbarry@fredon.com.au or toddbarry7@gmail.com


*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,230
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 8 (702 Views)

Re: Cant see anything have exported IFC file from CAD Duct opened in Revit 2013

01-14-2013 11:12 AM in reply to: bluelion

Ah! That makes more sense but unfortunately, I still cannot supply an answer to the "why". But, can you open the IFC in Revit MEP 2012 and then open that file in Revit 2013? This will automatically upgrade the Project. There are a few scattered reports about issues/bugs resulting from upgrading a Project, but as far as I've heard, they have affected existing Revit Elements, and probably won't matter at all for this.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
tim.winnington
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 7 of 8 (695 Views)

Re: Cant see anything have exported IFC file from CAD Duct opened in Revit 2013

01-14-2013 01:30 PM in reply to: bluelion

Todd,

 

Depending on what you are trying to achieve with the process.  If you are trying to create an intelligent model both options are going to have issues.  It has been a while since I played with the process but much of the information will not transfer from Fabricaiton to Revit via IFC.

 

If you are just trying to obtain a model there is an exporter available on labs which will export your Fabrication to Revit but will not convert to Revit objects it gives geometry only.

 

Forum post on the addin : http://autodesk.typepad.com/fabrication/2012/08/taking-fabrication-fabmep-models-into-revit.html

Labs Link: http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/revit_fabmep/

 

The labs addin is only supported till march which may imply some development in this area with the new release.

Active Contributor
bluelion
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
Message 8 of 8 (673 Views)

Re: Cant see anything have exported IFC file from CAD Duct opened in Revit 2013

01-15-2013 01:58 AM in reply to: tim.winnington

Thanks Tim,

The export to revit from fabrication is only for coordination / presentation as far as I am aware. Will try the add-in when I get back to work tomorrow fingers crossed.

 

Thanks,

Todd Barry (Mechanical Design Engineer)

Sydney, Australia
Mob: 0438 479 967

E: tbarry@fredon.com.au or toddbarry7@gmail.com


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.