Revit MEP

Reply
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 1 of 6 (458 Views)

Cant get rectangular duct to connect to round

458 Views, 5 Replies
09-30-2013 11:08 AM

Revit 2014.  Have a 24x16 rectangular duct (bottom at 8'-0 1/2").  Running perpendicular I need (4) 14" diameter round duct that transitions up to 9'-0 1/2".  Was able to make the round transtiion up. What I cant seem to do is to get the round to connect to the rectangualr duct.  I made sure the fittings were loaded but I keep getting the error

 

"parameters for the fitting is causing the geometry to fail". 

 

Looked up on online and I couldnt find anything.  Please see attached.  I am trying to re-create portions of the 2D shop drawing.  I am trying to find out what I am doing wrong.  Thanks in advance.

 

 

Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 2 of 6 (379 Views)

Re: Cant get rectangular duct to connect to round

10-01-2013 02:42 PM in reply to: RedMan77

Can anyone help??

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,214
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 6 (354 Views)

Re: Cant get rectangular duct to connect to round

10-02-2013 05:45 AM in reply to: RedMan77

Can you attach the Family File for the Duct Fitting that is causing the error?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 4 of 6 (350 Views)

Re: Cant get rectangular duct to connect to round

10-02-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Not sure how that would work since I am tring to attach the ducts thats are pendicular to each other and the fitting that would join them hasnt been created yet.  If you notice the attachment, there is no fitting combining the two ducts together.  If it were to go sucessfully the fitting would be created.  Maybe I am not understanding your post

 

Since I wasnt getting an answer and I had to move forward I tried to create the ducts again in a new template.  I was successful and I copied the group of duct into my project and everything seems good. Wish I knew why that was happening.  Whats worse is I cant seem to repeat the issue.

 

Appreciate the repsonse.  Thank you very much.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,214
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 5 of 6 (342 Views)

Re: Cant get rectangular duct to connect to round

10-02-2013 11:10 AM in reply to: RedMan77

Under the Routing Preferences in the Duct Type, you can see the Families that Revit is attempting to use. Since there is no default category for a "Round Tee/Tap to a Rectangular Duct" Family, Revit tries to create a "Rectangular to Round" Transition and then a Rectangular Tee/Tap.

 

If you want the transition to occur within the Tap/Tee Family, you'll have to manually insert a valid Duct Fitting and connect it. If you are fine with the Transition in addition to the Tap/Tee, then one of those default Duct Fitting Families is probably causing the issue. That's what I was asking you to post.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 6 of 6 (335 Views)

Re: Cant get rectangular duct to connect to round

10-02-2013 01:10 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Oh. I think I understand.  You can tell Im sure that I havent been doing duct in revit for a long time.  I think Autocad MEP is far easier for ductwork and conduit but I also understand the differences and why moving to Revit is essntial.  Thanks again.  The issue seems to be resolved. 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.