Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
revitese
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-07-2013
Message 1 of 3 (238 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't Make Type error while inserting type

238 Views, 2 Replies
02-21-2014 11:40 AM

I've made a basic hot water tank family covering various brands and models. This was originally an A. O. Smith BT family that I simplified to include more variety and some new parameters. Unfortunately, when I try to load the family into a project, only one of the types work. I have looked through all the parameters and I cannot find what works with the A. O. Smith BT-80 that is not working in the other types. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Revit 2014

Thank you! I had actually figured this out and fixed the problem myself but I had not yet gotten around to commenting here. I found Revit's Journals to be very helpful here.

 

For anyone stumbling across this: Revit records absolutely everything it does while it's running. This means that if you have an error that says something vague like "Can't make type" but you do not know why, here is where to find a more specific reason for the error.

Contributor
lrtuss
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-18-2008
Message 2 of 3 (221 Views)

Re: Can't Make Type error while inserting type

02-21-2014 12:26 PM in reply to: revitese

I get an error that is referencing the Electrical Connector Load Parameter. On the family side the Load Classification Parameter "value" is empty. It looks as though you set up a HOT WATER Load and entered this "HOT WATER" for the type that works. I removed the "Load Classification" parameter and no more error.

Contributor
revitese
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-07-2013
Message 3 of 3 (208 Views)

Re: Can't Make Type error while inserting type

02-21-2014 01:38 PM in reply to: revitese

Thank you! I had actually figured this out and fixed the problem myself but I had not yet gotten around to commenting here. I found Revit's Journals to be very helpful here.

 

For anyone stumbling across this: Revit records absolutely everything it does while it's running. This means that if you have an error that says something vague like "Can't make type" but you do not know why, here is where to find a more specific reason for the error.

Revit 2014
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.