Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
ghardy
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 1 of 29 (1,848 Views)

Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

1848 Views, 28 Replies
09-18-2012 07:54 AM

We are under a HUGE deadline and somehow we are having a glitch with out Project Browser. I am the BIM manager here at my consulting engineering firm. I have been using revit for A LONG TIME. Well there is no project browser whenever you open the project, If i go to View-> User interface. Project Browser is still checked, but it is no where to be found. If i try to click on it to un-check it. It will not do anything, yet all the other options will. I have tried literally everything. I have "Audited" the file and try all the troubleshooting options over and over again. I have converted it from 2011 to 2012( of course keeping each file seperate) to see if i can fix the problem in that version. No luck. Then i also converted the project to 2013 to see if i could fix it there. NO LUCK again. I have spent countless hours and can not fix this what so ever. I understand it may be something with the central file. Maybe corrupt or having a glitch, but there should be a way to resolve this without having to go back and pull out a central file from before it dissappeared.

 

I need to fix this ASAP. We have all the updates/patches for Revit as well. I am running out of options. I have looked through your troubleshooting as well.

 

If you need any additional information, let me know and I will provide it. I have loads of experience, and this is the first problem that I can't fix and it is very frustrating and about to cost me LOTS OF MONEY!

 

P.S.- Sorry for the very unorganized description. In a huge hurry and rush, so I just spat the unorganized information out.

 

If you know how to fix this and don't feel like typing it or explaining it on here. Please send me a PM and I will give you my work number and we can discuss it over the phone. I know how to fix anything else and all the work arounds to using MEP and will return the favor. THANK YOU!

Active Member
ghardy
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 2 of 29 (1,838 Views)

Re: Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

09-18-2012 08:34 AM in reply to: ghardy

I have posted a ticket with support as well. I also opened another project with project browser. Then opened this project ontop of it. And it shows the project browser for the previous project, but it shows the correct properties. IF i click a view on the project browser that is incorrect for that project. It just crashes.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 29 (1,834 Views)

Re: Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

09-18-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: ghardy

I searched and found a solution to reset the Project Browser. I tested it and it worked without causing any problems.

 

1. Close Revit

 

2. Open the file: C:/Windows/regedit.exe

 

3. Browse to the path: HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Autodesk/Revit/Autodesk Revit MEP 20**/Components/Panels

 

4. You will see "ProjectBrowser". Delete it.

 

5. Reopen Revit and the Project Browser should be back in the default location. The previously deleted key will be recreated when you close Revit again.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
ghardy
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 4 of 29 (1,831 Views)

Re: Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

09-18-2012 08:54 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thank you very much. I will try that and let you know how it works.

Active Member
ghardy
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 5 of 29 (1,829 Views)

Re: Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

09-18-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: ghardy

Does not work. I do not think it is a location issue. I think it is a corruption in the central file. I just want to see if its a work around before i have to go back track and lose $1,000's in lost bim team hours. If it was a location issue, then when I clicked on porject browser in use interface it would still uncheck and then recheck. But when I click it, It does noting.

 

I opened another project with the project browser current, and then opened this project on top of it. It's properties show correctly but the project browser is for the other project. If I uncheck the project browser, it undoes it for the other project and when recheck it does nothing ( this is the only way it will ever check and uncheck) and at that point it will never uncheck again, only that once. The other project will uncheck and check just fine. I am really scared it's a central file corruption or something!

 

But thank you for the help anyways. I gave you some Kudos for the effort anyways.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 29 (1,825 Views)

Re: Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

09-18-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: ghardy

If you just open a blank new project with nothing else open, does it appear properly? If so, is the Project Browser still messed up with that Project if you open it as 'Detach from Central'?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
ghardy
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 7 of 29 (1,822 Views)

Re: Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

09-18-2012 09:09 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Yes, if i open a blank project the browser appears correctly.

No, I have detached from central and worked in that. Still nothing, I've audited it in all 3 versions of Revit. Done every troubleshooting issue that has come up in all 3 versions to see if it will help in any of them and no luck.

Valued Mentor
julianjameson8403
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎06-16-2010
Message 8 of 29 (1,819 Views)

Re: Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

09-18-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: ghardy

Will creating a new project, linking in the dodgy file and then binding the links solve the issue?

If my reply answers your query, please use the Accept as Solution.
Please give Kudos as appropriate to enhance the value of these forums.

Thank you!
Active Member
ghardy
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 9 of 29 (1,814 Views)

Re: Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

09-18-2012 09:19 AM in reply to: julianjameson8403

I will definitely try that. If i bind the old MEP file into the new project and bind it, will it all appear to be normal and fine and can be edited normally like the original file? Because my team still has lots of work to do moving forward and this is a BIG client.

 

I will definitely do all those things. I don't use these forums much, but I may start using them more, On Augi forum I am a MOD. and same with Linkedin. I have tons of people that use me for technical support. Because I can solve any problem and do a work around for anything. So this is frustrating to me.

 

Thank you for input. Will try. I am going to remove the Arch & struc Links before I bring it in and Bind it. Then relink those. That is the correct way, right? because I do not need the other links Binded.

 

Give me awhile to reply. I got another project I have to work on right now, so I will try it a bit later. I got an extension to my deadline on this project luckily or else........ bad news

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,401
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 10 of 29 (1,809 Views)

Re: Can't Get Project Browser Back-PERIOD

09-18-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: ghardy

I assume that the case is the same if opened on another machine?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!