Revit MEP

Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 1 of 8 (520 Views)

Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

520 Views, 7 Replies
01-17-2013 11:05 AM

I've gone thru the tutorials on connectors, supply and return, etc. I can connect, say, a boiler to a circ, and then on to some baseboard, and get flows, etc.  But what happens if you want to have an intervening primary loop, hydronic separator, etc, between the boiler and the heat emitters?  Is MEP able to do this?  Would like to design a primary loop with inputs thru closely spaced tees from a boiler, and outputs to various heat emitter circuits.  Can't seem to find any discussions on this, much less tutorials.   I must be missing something(?)  Maybe MEP is incapable of this level of detail?

Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 2 of 8 (439 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-21-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: adave

You might have to seperate the primary loop system from the secondary.  Could you post a schematic of what you are trying to do?  I have supply air systems with VAVs and FTUs, I have to separate the systems at the VAV or FTU.

Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 3 of 8 (401 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-26-2013 12:35 PM in reply to: asommer

Sorry for the delay in responding...

 

Attached is a simple conceptual drawing.  I suppose that I could create a new "family" for the primary loop itself, with hydronic connectors at the closely spaced tees(?). 

Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 4 of 8 (388 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-27-2013 10:19 AM in reply to: adave

Next step...

 

I created a "primary loop" family (attached).  Onto it, I grafted several copies of a "Closely Spaced Tees" family (also attached) that I made from scratch, with connectors designated with directions/flowrates.   I still need to create the circulator family, and graft it in.

 

Do you think I'm on the right path?

Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 5 of 8 (348 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-29-2013 08:53 AM in reply to: adave

Check your connection direction on those CSTs, The "arrow" is not flow direction, it is the direction the pipe/duct connects and should piont out from the part, and you specify "In" or "Out" flow direction when you select each connector.

 

As for the loop, that's a tough one.  The "In" and "Out" or as Revit would specify "Supply" and "Return" goes into the same loop.  The flows may cancel each other out.  I had a similar problem with a boiler system, I had to break and cap between the Supply and Return branches.  This may be the only way, I don't believe Revit understands this type of system.

 

I could be wrong, though...

Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 6 of 8 (337 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-29-2013 09:53 AM in reply to: asommer

Thanks for the suggestion.  I figured out the arrow direction vs in/out after watching a tutorial, but thanks for pointing it out and confiriming this.

 

I guess I'll have to play around with the loop.  At this point, I'm thinking that the pipe between the CSTs will just be for "show" , and the individual connectors on the CST's themselves will have to be  assigned flow values (so flow from boiler won't automatically propagate through the CSTs). Doesn't seem to me to be the way to run an airline though.

 

I may post another question in another thread after I've played around with it for a while.  Can't believe someone else hasn't figured out how to run such a basic system.  Hate to reinvent the wheel (oops, I mean primary loop).

 

Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 7 of 8 (331 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-29-2013 10:50 AM in reply to: adave

Yeah, with the way Revit does calcs and flows, it wants everything to be in a parralel system.  If you had two loops (a supply loop and separate Return loop), it would work easily.  The Supply and Return in one loop definitely tripps it up, unless a magical update happens soon.

Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 8 of 8 (296 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

02-02-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: asommer

Good observation.

 

I'll keep playing around with it as I get time.  WIll post anything significant that I find.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.