Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
davidmansfield81
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-14-2010
Message 11 of 22 (901 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

11-22-2012 06:55 AM in reply to: davidmansfield81

Would still love to see this appear in Revit in the future, keep getting requests from engineers and clients to show these on drawings.

New Member
hector.pascual
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-20-2013
Message 12 of 22 (752 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

06-20-2013 02:22 AM in reply to: davidmansfield81

I'm now using the Revit MEP 2013 and these vertical cable tray are still unavailable. The porpose of these tray is to win space in narrow carridors. Is autodesk trying to implement this function?

Here's another example 

cable_tray_bend3.jpg

Distinguished Contributor
alan.skipper
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 13 of 22 (705 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

07-11-2013 01:42 AM in reply to: hector.pascual

This is fundemental.

 

There is no E in MEP!!!!

Distinguished Contributor
alan.skipper
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 14 of 22 (639 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

08-19-2013 04:29 AM in reply to: pothied

Why didn't Autodesk talk to an electrical engineer when they thought about designing the "cable tray feature" then, I hope, that the ELECTRICAL ENGINEER would have told them that cable tray can be and is installed in all orientations.

New Member
lemuel_mission
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-25-2014
Message 15 of 22 (439 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

01-25-2014 04:46 AM in reply to: davidmansfield81

Autodesk, what's your action regarding with this matter? It's already been years and still we cannot see any improvement. The version now is already 2014 but still the same problem.

 

Kindly help us resolve this matter.

 

Thanks

Distinguished Contributor
alan.skipper
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 16 of 22 (432 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

01-25-2014 05:14 AM in reply to: lemuel_mission

It's only been 4 years, give them a chance!!!!!

 

This is an Electrical problem, so they don't care about it as there is no E in MEP.

 

Cheers

Contributor
daleg77
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-19-2014
Message 17 of 22 (378 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

02-19-2014 04:04 AM in reply to: lemuel_mission

Can anybody provide any advice on when or if this issue is to be resolved as per the post I am replying to.

I too need to route a large number of cable trays in the vertical position going up risers and must move along in the horizontal direction, but as stated by other users revit will always flip the tray when you modify its length etc.

This is a vital feature when routing tray work.

New Member
mardon85
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-08-2014
Message 18 of 22 (82 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

09-29-2014 01:57 AM in reply to: daleg77

I've also ran into this ridiculous problem today. What is frustrating is the lack of comment from AutoDesk on the matter. “We designed it that way”, so coding effort was put in to restrict the way we can install cable tray? Someone has put in a concerting effort to limit the way we do things? Why this makes no sense to me.

 

On a side note, dado trunking… just because it isn’t used in the US very often does not mean that the rest of the world doesn’t use it. I’m sick of bodging dado trunking. Also ring circuits, a fundamental part of UK electrical wiring is missing. Autodesk should change the name to MAEP (Mechanical, American Electrical and Pipework).

 

If BIM is going to silence the naysayers (which there are plenty of) it’d be great if we could get some proper UK support.

Distinguished Contributor
alan.skipper
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 19 of 22 (77 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

09-29-2014 02:38 AM in reply to: mardon85
First posted in 2010, four years ago; nothing is going to happen.
Active Member
davidmansfield81
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-14-2010
Message 20 of 22 (71 Views)

Re: Cable Trays on walls

09-29-2014 04:08 AM in reply to: alan.skipper

When i first posed this in 2010 I was certain that I was simply doing something wrong, after finding out it was how the software is designed i am supprised that it hasnt been changed in any of the new versions.

 

It is getting a bit boring using ductwork as cable trays in residential risers as we can do what we want with ductwork, however it kind of kills the BIM aspect of our models and makes them just 3D models.

 

To be fair however, this is one of the few complaints i have about the product! (compared to the many problems we have with AutoCAD), but then we are not yet fully using Revit for all its BIM capabilities, and electrical is the area we draw least of in Revit.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.