Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
ajpharvey
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-26-2011
Message 1 of 4 (1,083 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cable tray colour

1083 Views, 3 Replies
02-09-2012 03:08 AM

Is there any way to change the colour of cable tray types. E.g. say I have  a type for fire alarm that I would want to be red, or a type for power that would be green.

 

Many thanks

 

Regards

You can do this with filters.

You can either make a different cable tray type for each service, or add  parameter that will allow you to define what service the tray is carrying.

Then you can make a filter (in visibility graphics) and set a colour fill override.

Mentor
embolisim
Posts: 355
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 2 of 4 (1,082 Views)

Re: Cable tray colour

02-09-2012 03:30 AM in reply to: ajpharvey

You can do this with filters.

You can either make a different cable tray type for each service, or add  parameter that will allow you to define what service the tray is carrying.

Then you can make a filter (in visibility graphics) and set a colour fill override.

Contributor
ajpharvey
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-26-2011
Message 3 of 4 (1,074 Views)

Re: Cable tray colour

02-09-2012 04:57 AM in reply to: embolisim

Just figured out the filters, thank you - a very poweful tool it looks like.

Active Contributor
gookeeper
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-09-2005
Message 4 of 4 (914 Views)

Re: Cable tray colour

07-29-2012 10:48 AM in reply to: ajpharvey

Hi embolisim

 

If we create Cable tray type for each service, surely to getting the cable tray fitting the same color as the tray, we will need to also create cable tray fitting family for each service also, plus additional filters.

 

I guess once its created, it only needs to be done once, but is there a better way than this?

 

Ive also used identity data - service type in the properties panel and created my own types in there, but that isn't a great solution either, as the created systems don't get stored in there and i have to type it in every time.

 

Thanks

 

Guy

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.