Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
CAVEMANED
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 1 of 3 (314 Views)

AutoCAD MEP content

314 Views, 2 Replies
02-18-2011 07:05 AM

Is there any way I can export REVIT families to a .adsk file for use with AutoCAD MEP? I would like to be able to use more accurately dimensioned models versus the generic models currently available.

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,146
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 2 of 3 (233 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MEP content

02-24-2011 11:45 PM in reply to: CAVEMANED

As far as I know, you cannot export to a .adsk file but what you can do is is export the revit family as a solid and then open the solid in autocad mep and create a mvpart out of it.  There is a couple more steps involved but at least you get the correct part.  When exporting to a dwg make sure that you export it as a 3d solid and not a polyface mesh.  Autocad MEP doesnt play well with meshes and you should always use 3d solids when creating your mvparts for it.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Active Member
CAVEMANED
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 3 of 3 (227 Views)

Re: AutoCAD MEP content

02-25-2011 07:55 AM in reply to: CAVEMANED

Thanks. I tried that and got it to work, but I wrestled it first. Hopefully the second try will be a little easier. Thanks again.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.