Revit MEP

Reply
*Bob M.
Message 1 of 6 (316 Views)

AutoCAD like Area command

316 Views, 5 Replies
06-12-2009 09:30 AM
Is there an "AutoCAD" like Aera command where you pick points to get a sq.
ft result?

Thanks
Active Contributor
scritz
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎06-29-2006
Message 2 of 6 (316 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-12-2009 09:59 AM in reply to: *Bob M.
Draw a filled region or masking region around the part of the building you need the area for and then select the filled region and click properties and it will display sq ft.
*Bob M.
Message 3 of 6 (316 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-12-2009 10:40 AM in reply to: *Bob M.

Thanks that works great


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Draw
a filled region or masking region around the part of the building you need the
area for and then select the filled region and click properties and it will
display sq ft.
Distinguished Contributor
Brausmith
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 4 of 6 (316 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-14-2009 03:34 PM in reply to: *Bob M.
Has been asked for many times now for many years, but unfortunately still no.

It would be nice to get a quick throw away area (you know, like the Tape Measure does), without the hassle of creating a Filled Region.
Regards,
Chad
Distinguished Contributor
simon.whitbread
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎04-06-2009
Message 5 of 6 (316 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-14-2009 03:57 PM in reply to: *Bob M.
Why not use the 'Area Plan' Tools?
Create a set of Area Plans
Add Areas
Keep
Done
Distinguished Contributor
Brausmith
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 6 of 6 (316 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-14-2009 04:01 PM in reply to: *Bob M.
Not all views are in Plan. How about for Sections and Elevations?

Not everything you do in Revit has to be permanent. Why not do away with the Tape Measure tool and use Dimensions when-ever you need a distance? It's not all that convenient is it. Edited by: cgsmith on Jun 15, 2009 9:02 AM
Regards,
Chad
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.