Revit MEP

Reply
*Bob M.
Message 1 of 6 (313 Views)

AutoCAD like Area command

313 Views, 5 Replies
06-12-2009 09:30 AM
Is there an "AutoCAD" like Aera command where you pick points to get a sq.
ft result?

Thanks
Active Contributor
scritz
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎06-29-2006
Message 2 of 6 (313 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-12-2009 09:59 AM in reply to: *Bob M.
Draw a filled region or masking region around the part of the building you need the area for and then select the filled region and click properties and it will display sq ft.
*Bob M.
Message 3 of 6 (313 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-12-2009 10:40 AM in reply to: *Bob M.

Thanks that works great


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Draw
a filled region or masking region around the part of the building you need the
area for and then select the filled region and click properties and it will
display sq ft.
Distinguished Contributor
Brausmith
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 4 of 6 (313 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-14-2009 03:34 PM in reply to: *Bob M.
Has been asked for many times now for many years, but unfortunately still no.

It would be nice to get a quick throw away area (you know, like the Tape Measure does), without the hassle of creating a Filled Region.
Regards,
Chad
Distinguished Contributor
simon.whitbread
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎04-06-2009
Message 5 of 6 (313 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-14-2009 03:57 PM in reply to: *Bob M.
Why not use the 'Area Plan' Tools?
Create a set of Area Plans
Add Areas
Keep
Done
Distinguished Contributor
Brausmith
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 6 of 6 (313 Views)

Re: AutoCAD like Area command

06-14-2009 04:01 PM in reply to: *Bob M.
Not all views are in Plan. How about for Sections and Elevations?

Not everything you do in Revit has to be permanent. Why not do away with the Tape Measure tool and use Dimensions when-ever you need a distance? It's not all that convenient is it. Edited by: cgsmith on Jun 15, 2009 9:02 AM
Regards,
Chad
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!