Revit MEP

Reply
Mentor
256 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Post 1 of 10
Accepted Solution

Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

627 Views, 9 Replies
02-11-2013 07:27 AM

I'm attaching my electrical switch family that I have created.  The reason why I have nested the plate & fixture box families separate is because we need each instance to show up in a schedule.  My problem is that I can't get the $ switch symbol to show up on my plan when I insert the family.  I've tried looking at other switch families where the $ symbol shows up but I must be missing a step.  Anyone know what that is?

 

Thanks,

Jess

No need to recreate, that should be OK. Open your Family and go to Family Category and Parameters. Check the option "Maintain Annotation Orientation" - that should fix it.

*Expert Elite*
3,480 Posts
997 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 2 of 10

Re: Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

02-11-2013 07:42 AM in reply to: norcaljess

What template did you start with when you created this Family?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
256 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Post 3 of 10

Re: Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

02-11-2013 07:45 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

:smileyfrustrated: I started with an Electrical Fixture template, the reason being, I have almost an identical family for Recepts that I created first, then used that to create this one.  Should I start over with another template?

 

Thanks,
Jess

Mentor
256 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Post 4 of 10

Re: Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

02-11-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: norcaljess

And as far as the template I used to create the Recept family, I started with a 'Generic Model face based' because I want the Recept & Switch families to cut holes in the walls that host them.

*Expert Elite*
3,480 Posts
997 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 5 of 10

Re: Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

02-11-2013 07:53 AM in reply to: norcaljess

No need to recreate, that should be OK. Open your Family and go to Family Category and Parameters. Check the option "Maintain Annotation Orientation" - that should fix it.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
256 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Post 6 of 10

Re: Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

02-11-2013 07:56 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

:smileymad:  AAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Thank you Corey!!!!

*Expert Elite*
3,480 Posts
997 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 7 of 10

Re: Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

02-11-2013 08:02 AM in reply to: norcaljess

norcaljess wrote:

":smileymad:  AAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"


Breathe...just breathe.  At least it was a simple answer this time, in lieu of the traditional 15-paragraph explanation/work-around!

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
256 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Post 8 of 10

Re: Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

02-11-2013 12:34 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

That's what makes me so mad!  I am overthinking things because that's what I normally have to do with Revit, and it was a stinking check box!  And one that I had considered checking to see if it would fix my problem!  BUT I decided it just couldn't be that simple and let it go.  Revit... teaching me a lesson again!

*Expert Elite*
3,480 Posts
997 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 9 of 10

Re: Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

02-11-2013 12:48 PM in reply to: norcaljess

Well, if it makes you feel any better, I really didn't think that would work, either...

 

Oh, well. All you can do is laugh - 'cause if we're not laughing, we're crying. Or throwing our computer across them room...

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
256 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-27-2007
Post 10 of 10

Re: Annotation Symbol in Electrical Family

02-11-2013 12:55 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Or... if you are one of the guys I work with... hurling verbal insults at Revit, as if it can understand you or has some personal vendetta against you.  :smileywink:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post