Revit MEP Wishes

Reply
Active Contributor
mwenta
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 6 (86 Views)

Workset Locking

86 Views, 5 Replies
09-26-2007 11:06 AM
We need the ability to 'lockout' certain worksets. When setting up a project I want the ability to 'lockout' my core elements so that certain people can't 'accidentally' change grid and column locations or move core walls. I would like this be done using your windows login name and password. How you guys do it is beyond me, it's only an idea. If it were up to me to invent things we would all be in horse drawn carriages still!

Thanks,

Mike
*Scott Davis
Message 2 of 6 (86 Views)

Re: Workset Locking

09-26-2007 11:47 AM in reply to: mwenta
open Revit. change your user name in Settings >Options to Admin or Locked
or some other name you'd like to use. Open a local copy of the project
under that user name. Check out the workset to lock. Save, close, DON'T
relinquish. Then change your user name back to your name, and go back to
work normally. This locks out that workset from everyone but the "Admin"
user.

wrote in message news:5732705@discussion.autodesk.com...
We need the ability to 'lockout' certain worksets. When setting up a
project I want the ability to 'lockout' my core elements so that certain
people can't 'accidentally' change grid and column locations or move core
walls. I would like this be done using your windows login name and
password. How you guys do it is beyond me, it's only an idea. If it were
up to me to invent things we would all be in horse drawn carriages still!

Thanks,

Mike
Active Contributor
mwenta
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (86 Views)

Re: Workset Locking

09-26-2007 12:09 PM in reply to: mwenta
We have done that in the past, and that works for awhile until someone back doors the system. All they have to do is login with your username (because it's proudly displayed across the screen) and check it back in. We had people do this and screw up columns and so forth. A password protected workset would be much better and more secure. For right now your way that you mentioned (which is what I instruct) is really the only way that I know of as well.
*Scott Davis
Message 4 of 6 (86 Views)

Re: Workset Locking

09-26-2007 12:14 PM in reply to: mwenta
yeah, it works for now, but i agree that it needs to be more secure. Make
an office wide rule.....anyone that logs in as admin besides the admin will
have some consequence.

wrote in message news:5732815@discussion.autodesk.com...
We have done that in the past, and that works for awhile until someone back
doors the system. All they have to do is login with your username (because
it's proudly displayed across the screen) and check it back in. We had
people do this and screw up columns and so forth. A password protected
workset would be much better and more secure. For right now your way that
you mentioned (which is what I instruct) is really the only way that I know
of as well.
Active Contributor
mwenta
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 6 (86 Views)

Re: Workset Locking

09-26-2007 12:52 PM in reply to: mwenta
yeah, like work in AutoCAD! I implemented the user name 'ADMIN DO NOT TOUCH'. Seemed to work, but ultimately the password thing would be great.
Distinguished Contributor
SRobbins
Posts: 230
Registered: ‎06-15-2006
Message 6 of 6 (86 Views)

Re: Workset Locking

09-26-2007 03:21 PM in reply to: mwenta
Its a good thought, but people can still add content to a 'locked' workset.
What typically happens here is someone accidentally puts a wall on the grid
workset. They go back to modify it and see its checked out. They change
their name and blah blah blah, forget to check it back out again then the
new guy accidentally drags a column grid. We have been using linking for
column grids and setting up the views in the linked file to show in the main
depending on how much of the grid we want to see.



"Scott Davis" wrote in message
news:5732748@discussion.autodesk.com...
open Revit. change your user name in Settings >Options to Admin or Locked
or some other name you'd like to use. Open a local copy of the project
under that user name. Check out the workset to lock. Save, close, DON'T
relinquish. Then change your user name back to your name, and go back to
work normally. This locks out that workset from everyone but the "Admin"
user.

wrote in message news:5732705@discussion.autodesk.com...
We need the ability to 'lockout' certain worksets. When setting up a
project I want the ability to 'lockout' my core elements so that certain
people can't 'accidentally' change grid and column locations or move core
walls. I would like this be done using your windows login name and
password. How you guys do it is beyond me, it's only an idea. If it were
up to me to invent things we would all be in horse drawn carriages still!

Thanks,

Mike
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.