Revit MEP Wishes

Reply
Valued Contributor
tkendrick
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 1 of 7 (249 Views)

Pre-Select selection filter

249 Views, 6 Replies
03-27-2012 05:34 AM

Have the ability to preset the selection filter before selecting anything.

Ex: I know I only want to select light fixtures before hand, preset selection filter to light fixtures and window select an area, my selection set is only the light fixtures.

----
Use this link to tell Autodesk about features you need:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794
Distinguished Contributor
plawton5092
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-18-2008
Message 2 of 7 (237 Views)

Re: Pre-Select selection filter

04-02-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: tkendrick

Agreed - custom 'saved selection sets' could be a drop down, and you just pick the one you need - even hold down CTRL to grab multiples.  Good idea - almost like a saved 'range' in Excel, which is very powerful there.

Distinguished Contributor
plawton5092
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-18-2008
Message 3 of 7 (232 Views)

Re: Pre-Select selection filter

04-02-2012 12:04 PM in reply to: tkendrick

It turns out that 'saveable selection sets' are now a part of Revit 2013 - one wish list item down, 8,460 to go.

 

My advice:  Do not hold your breath

Contributor
Levitskiy.SP
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Message 4 of 7 (199 Views)

Re: Pre-Select selection filter

08-13-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: tkendrick

Excellent free solution! A little something that you like, but I greatly helps in work :smileywink:

Editing (Antimirror, Supperfilter and Rename) 

 

We can only choose the family that we need (I have a Russian version, but you can download and English)

How it works 

Distinguished Contributor
thewrz
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 5 of 7 (179 Views)

Re: Pre-Select selection filter

08-18-2012 10:33 AM in reply to: tkendrick

That's actually a pretty good idea. I wonder how best to implement it though, like, put a little drop down box (similar to the select workset dropdown) right next to the filter button on the lower right hand corner of the interface? And then let you click the model category you're interested in?

____________________________________________________
Please give kudos to the MEP Wish List ideas you like, as this will help the Revit development team prioritize functionality additions!
Valued Contributor
tkendrick
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 6 of 7 (171 Views)

Re: Pre-Select selection filter

08-20-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: tkendrick

Maybe there's a way that the program already knows what visible in the current view, so it automatically filters a drop-down list to only items visible in the current view, that way you don't have a mile long drop down list. I think having a drop down list with check boxes, it could be next to the Filter at the bottom right of the window.

 

 

----
Use this link to tell Autodesk about features you need:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794
Contributor
Levitskiy.SP
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
Message 7 of 7 (131 Views)

Re: Pre-Select selection filter

09-27-2012 02:57 AM in reply to: tkendrick
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!