Revit MEP Wishes

Revit MEP Wishes

Reply
*Expert Elite*
2,070 Posts
176 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Post 1 of 6

Allow me to make a parameter hidden and/or read-only

381 Views, 5 Replies
02-22-2013 07:48 AM

There are times when I want to have something's distand be relative to another dimension.  This currently requires assigning both to labels.

 

But then the user can change those labels.

 

For example:

 

Dimension A represents the length of Side A.  I want Side B to be 1.5 x Dimension A.  And I don't want the user changing Side B.

 

There might be a time where I want to let the user SEE the label for Side B (but be unable to change it) and there might be a time where I don't even want them to see it either.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given. Such messages will be deleted unread & without a reply.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
Member
4 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-30-2012
Post 2 of 6

Re: Allow me to make a parameter hidden and/or read-only

02-22-2013 12:39 PM in reply to: doni49

Hi, Here my trick to have a read-only parameter:

 

Create a yes-no parameter called: Lock

Create your length parameter: Size A

Create your length parameter: Size B with the following formula : if(Lock, Size A*1.5, Size A*1.5)

 

This way the Size B parameter will be greyed out and read-only.

 

To hide a parameter there is another post explaining it : Family parameters

 

Hope this help! Mario

*Expert Elite*
2,070 Posts
176 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Post 3 of 6

Re: Allow me to make a parameter hidden and/or read-only

02-22-2013 12:50 PM in reply to: mario.laflamme

Thanks I found the thread you mentioned (at least I think it's the one).

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Revit-MEP/Family-parameters/td-p/3567894

 

It links to a blog entry (http://aectechtalk.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/hiding-revit-family-parameters-in-a-project/) that explains it fairly well.  But it requires using shared parameters.

 

The parameters I'm dealing with won't/shouldn't exist anywhere else.  Is there anyway to do this WITHOUT using shared params?

 

And assuming for a minute that I DO go that route, what happens if the user attaches a DIFFERENT shared params file to the project?  Will my params be "lost"?

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given. Such messages will be deleted unread & without a reply.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
Member
4 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-30-2012
Post 4 of 6

Re: Allow me to make a parameter hidden and/or read-only

02-22-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: doni49

I don't know a way to hide family parameter other then shared parameter!

 

But,the shared parameter will be loaded and part of your family, it doesn't matter which shared parameter file linked to your project when you use the family.

*Expert Elite*
2,070 Posts
176 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Post 5 of 6

Re: Allow me to make a parameter hidden and/or read-only

02-22-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: doni49

Also, I tried the method you suggested and it worked.  BUT it created a new parameter that didn't really do anything.  If I turn it off, nothing changes.  And I really didn't want the user to have the option of UNLOCKING it anyway.

 

SO.....

 

This is the forumla I entered for Side B:  =if(1=1,Side A *1.5, Side A * 1.5)

 

This way there's no extra param to create and the if statement is going to evaluate to true no matter what.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given. Such messages will be deleted unread & without a reply.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-10-2010
Post 6 of 6

Re: Allow me to make a parameter hidden and/or read-only

08-23-2013 05:15 AM in reply to: doni49

This tip was what I was looking for also, many thanks.
A slight enhancement - the formula can be:

 

For Side B:  =if(1=1,Side A *1.5, 0)

 

This saves copying or re-typing the "Side A*1.5" formula again. As referred to in the prior post, there is no way the statement can be false (ie. 1=1 always - at least in Revit's mathematical universe). Saves typing mainly with lengthy parameter names or complicated formulas.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!