Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
revitus
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
Message 1 of 6 (1,419 Views)
Accepted Solution

Yes / No parameter for 3 Options

1419 Views, 5 Replies
10-30-2012 10:56 PM

I'd really like to offer 3 Visibility Parameters, but only allow one to be checked at any given time (so overlapping geometry isn't ever showing).  I don't want to use the "<Family Type...>" kind of parameter with the drop down box in this case.

 

Can someone offer the formula syntax to allow this?

 

It is very easy to use a "not(parameter name)" when there are only two options, but what about three (or more)?

 

Any help is very much appreciated!

In this example, "shape" is an integer. The other parameters under "Graphics" are Yes/No visibility parameters. When "shape" is 0, all the shapes are off. When shape is 1, only the triangle is visible. The list of shapes can be increased for as many shapes as required, all controlled by the value of the "shape" integer parameter.

 

multiple_yes_no.jpg

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,865
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 6 (1,411 Views)

Re: Yes / No parameter for 3 Options

10-31-2012 04:15 AM in reply to: revitus

In this example, "shape" is an integer. The other parameters under "Graphics" are Yes/No visibility parameters. When "shape" is 0, all the shapes are off. When shape is 1, only the triangle is visible. The list of shapes can be increased for as many shapes as required, all controlled by the value of the "shape" integer parameter.

 

multiple_yes_no.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 6 (1,401 Views)

Re: Yes / No parameter for 3 Options

10-31-2012 05:54 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina
To add to Alfredo's suggestion, you can set it so that one of the parameters will be checked in the event that an invalid integer is added to "Shape" (less than 1 or more than 3, in this case). For example, if you wanted "see_square" to be shown, use the formula below for the parameter "see_square":

= not(or(see_triangle, see_circle))

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
bashworth
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-21-2006
Message 4 of 6 (1,280 Views)

Re: Yes / No parameter for 3 Options

11-26-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: revitus

I am currently building a family for distribution outside our organization.  Similar to the original poster, I have a region where there are 4 different yes/no graphic parameters that the end user of the family could choose from.  Each option is in exclusion of the other 3, so I'd like only one to be able to be checked at any one time.

 

I like the method you described above, but I'd prefer something where the end user could just select 'Option A', 'Option B', or 'Option C', instead of having to provide them a legend that 'To display corner type A, input the number '3' into this parameter.'

 

I guess what it boils down to, is there any way to accomplish controling geometry for more than two options, within a specific type, directly?  Without having to create separate family types, and without introducing additional variables that then have to be relayed to the customer.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 5 of 6 (1,273 Views)

Re: Yes / No parameter for 3 Options

11-26-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: bashworth

Are you also opposed to using the  "<Family Type...>" parameter drop-down list as the OP stated? Attached is a crude example. (Revit 2013)

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
bashworth
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-21-2006
Message 6 of 6 (1,264 Views)

Re: Yes / No parameter for 3 Options

11-26-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

I like that.  It will require me to reconfigure how I've got the elements associated with each option configuration a bit, but I'm more interested in the functionality for the end user, vs how much rework this method may require.

 

I'll also have to see how it interracts with the functions of other parameters I have where the option changes certain schedule values.

 

Thank you.  I'm fairly new to Revit families, (I'm the 'hey, you used Revit for a month a few years back, why don't you do this' guy) so I'm still getting used to some of the tricks/terminology.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.