Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
beacharchitect
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 1 of 27 (7,737 Views)

Windows 8 Compatibility

7737 Views, 26 Replies
11-05-2012 07:40 AM

Any word on compatibilty issues with Revit and Windows 8?

 

Thad Broom, AIA

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 2 of 27 (7,703 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

11-05-2012 12:42 PM in reply to: beacharchitect

Nothing "official" here, but we have a Win8 station with Revit 2013 running perfectly.

 

cheers

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Member
andrew-cocke
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-05-2008
Message 3 of 27 (7,656 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

11-06-2012 09:54 AM in reply to: beacharchitect

I'm running Revit 2013 on a Retina Mac/Bootcamp/Windows 8.  I have already installed Service Update 2 which fixed the ribbon display problems noted elsewhere.  But before and after that update, Revit is catatonic--slow to the point of appearing to be frozen.  When I try to select objects, it appears nothing happens, but several minutes later it will recognize the selection.  Same when I try to switch views.

 

I have noticed that the workset and design options monitor at the bottom of the Revit window are constantly flashing, as if Revit is refreshing the worksets and design options, but this is a new file without any worksets or design options.

 

I hate W8 and I would have installed Windows 7, but I can't get a copy of W7 anymore (except questionable copies on ebay)  COME ON AUTODESK!!! I pay my subscription every year and never call tech support.  But the tech support on this issue: "Revit is not yet tested with Windows 8.  No information is available as to when Revit will work with Windows 8"  WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO?!  Buy a used computer while Autodesk works out the bugs?  This is unacceptable!

 

 

New Member
JAbeid
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 4 of 27 (7,559 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

11-07-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: andrew-cocke

Ditto Andrew!

 

I just started a new position, where I received a brand new, state of the art computer, which of course runs Windows 8.  The compnay has had to postpone purchasing AutoCAD until these "issues" are resolved.  TIC TOC...TIC TOC

Product Support
Lance.Coffey
Posts: 378
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 5 of 27 (7,483 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

11-08-2012 12:09 PM in reply to: beacharchitect

The following document was recently published (today) regarding this topic:

Windows 8 Support for Autodesk products

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS19048377



Lance Coffey
New Member
demetris_himonas1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-11-2012
Message 6 of 27 (7,259 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

11-13-2012 04:43 AM in reply to: Lance.Coffey

You say in that link that 3dsmax 2013 works on windows 8 yet when i try to install it i get an error at the start of the installation and it just instant quits...and thats with any products i try to install of 2013

New Member
leollwin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-10-2012
Message 7 of 27 (6,705 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

12-10-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: beacharchitect

I can't setup Autodesk Revit 2013 on my Win8 computer. How can reduce it?

Community Manager
camilo.lemos
Posts: 1,208
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 8 of 27 (6,696 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

12-10-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: leollwin

Hi leollwin,

 

Autodesk officially supports some of our products on Windows 8 at this time. The list will be updated over time, so make sure to keep checking!



Camilo Lemos
Valued Contributor
heterarch
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎10-16-2006
Message 9 of 27 (6,034 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

01-07-2013 05:56 AM in reply to: beacharchitect

I'm currently running Revit 2012 on an old cpu, with my new machine sitting in a box waiting for IT to install (waiting, and waiting, and waiting...).  In any case, it will, of course, be running Win8, and I'm a bit concerned - ESPECIALLY - after reading this and similar posts, that our new, expensive software won't run properly on our new, expensive machines, with their new Win8 software... 

The Autodesk list still doesn't show Revit as running correctly in Win8, is this something I should be losing sleep over?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,577
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 10 of 27 (6,022 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

01-07-2013 07:11 AM in reply to: heterarch

truthfully no

you won't lose sleep over it

since the 2013 release came out before windows 8 did autodesk did not test some of the products on the new OS

the main reason being is .net 4.5

it doesn't mean it won't work

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!