Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kschindel
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Message 1 of 3 (228 Views)
Accepted Solution

Window / Door U-value, VT in schedules

228 Views, 2 Replies
04-14-2014 06:39 PM

It seems windows and doors have Energy Analysis Parameters, like SHGC, VT, U-value. I'm able to assign the value in the family and this value also shows on the properties of the element when I select it in the project.

 

The problem I have when I put these values in the schedule, they don't show anything (everything else I schedule shows as usual). Is there something specific with those values?

 

Will Revit actually use those U-values etc. for the gbXML export?

The alternative would be to create shared parameters and call them U-value etc. This is easy to schedule, but I fear I give up functionality if I could use that for fancy load calcs etc. Ultimately my goal is to properly schedule them so the contractor doesn't give me thermally inferior products.

I think I kind of give up on actually doing anything with these built-in U-values etc.

 

In a different thread I tried a different workaround and found one and just won't use the Revit U-values anymore for actual calcaultion. I just manually enter what I need.

Distinguished Contributor
kschindel
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Message 2 of 3 (175 Views)

Re: Window / Door U-value, VT in schedules

04-16-2014 03:03 PM in reply to: kschindel

I still haven't figured itout. But reading on this paramter explanation, makes me think the the U-values etc. are family parameters that don't show in schedules. Weird that the schedule lets me chose them.

 

I also wonder what Revit uses those for? It seems I can change them. Maybe I try to render some interiors to see if different Visible Transmittance makes a difference with daylighting?

Distinguished Contributor
kschindel
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Message 3 of 3 (134 Views)

Re: Window / Door U-value, VT in schedules

04-19-2014 10:32 AM in reply to: kschindel

I think I kind of give up on actually doing anything with these built-in U-values etc.

 

In a different thread I tried a different workaround and found one and just won't use the Revit U-values anymore for actual calcaultion. I just manually enter what I need.

Announcements
Autodesk Alert | We are currently working on restoring Previous Version License request access in the Autodesk Subscription Center. If you are a subscription customer and would like to request a Previous Version License, please use this link as a temporary workaround. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.