Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Width/Height Parameter Based on family selection

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
wesleyf
2338 Views, 10 Replies

Width/Height Parameter Based on family selection

Hey guys, 
Hope someone can help with this, not sure what I am missing??? REF. image attached.

I am making prefab panels with each type having a different window (nested Family). I want to create an "if" formula for the window width/ height parameter that will be equal to a fixed amount based on which family is selected.
ie.... if(Window Type = W7(PT912) : W7, 900,600). I get the error - W7 not a valid family parameter. ???? Think it may be in the way I am expressing W7(PT912) : W7 within the formula.

Not sure how to get around this, its my first time trying this.

Also how would i be able to force only one of the yes/no boxes to be selected at a time.

Any help and suggestions appreciated.

Thanks

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
Alfredo_Medina
in reply to: wesleyf

The formula is invalid because the condition to evaluate is a family type parameter. That is not allowed. Alternatives: make the necessary combination of values in one type, (including family type and length values), then, create a new type in the family and set these values again for that type, etc...

It is possible to use family types in formulas, but not in this way. But with a combination of more family type parameters, but that does not apply for this case.

Alfredo Medina _________________________________________________________________ ______
Licensed Architect (Florida) | Freelance Instructor | Autodesk Expert Elite (on Revit) | Profile on Linkedin
Message 3 of 11
wesleyf
in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Thanks a ton for the reply.