Revit Architecture

Reply
*Jawknee99
Message 1 of 11 (239 Views)

Wall sweeps

239 Views, 10 Replies
02-13-2006 10:18 AM
I have tried 2 methods of generating a parapet cap:
1 - Creating a wall style with the sweep.
2 - Added a host sweep.

The problem is that using either method or a combination of both methods
doesn't always work. I still end up with some caps that don't miter
correctly even after editing. Sometimes, different intersections will miter
and others won't. Does anyone have any ideas? A newbie, I am probably
doing something wrong.

Thanks!

-Jawknee 99
*Storm Petrel
Message 2 of 11 (239 Views)

Re: Wall sweeps

02-14-2006 04:00 AM in reply to: *Jawknee99
I have the same problem. I would also like to know how to edit a wall
profile, say for a stepped parapet wall and get a sweep around and over it
nicely mitered. I don't think it can be done in Revit yet my client wants
it. What do I do?


"Jawknee99" wrote in message
news:5084745@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have tried 2 methods of generating a parapet cap:
1 - Creating a wall style with the sweep.
2 - Added a host sweep.

The problem is that using either method or a combination of both methods
doesn't always work. I still end up with some caps that don't miter
correctly even after editing. Sometimes, different intersections will miter
and others won't. Does anyone have any ideas? A newbie, I am probably
doing something wrong.

Thanks!

-Jawknee 99
Distinguished Contributor
DanielHurtubise
Posts: 522
Registered: ‎03-31-2004
Message 3 of 11 (239 Views)

Re: Wall sweeps

02-14-2006 05:41 AM in reply to: *Jawknee99
Can you post the file ?
*Aaron Rumple
Message 4 of 11 (239 Views)

Re: Wall sweeps

02-14-2006 06:06 AM in reply to: *Jawknee99
Modeling->Create->Walls->Solid Form->Solid Sweep Pick edges....

One of the tutorials covers this...

"Storm Petrel" wrote in message
news:5085460@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have the same problem. I would also like to know how to edit a wall
profile, say for a stepped parapet wall and get a sweep around and over it
nicely mitered. I don't think it can be done in Revit yet my client wants
it. What do I do?


"Jawknee99" wrote in message
news:5084745@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have tried 2 methods of generating a parapet cap:
1 - Creating a wall style with the sweep.
2 - Added a host sweep.

The problem is that using either method or a combination of both methods
doesn't always work. I still end up with some caps that don't miter
correctly even after editing. Sometimes, different intersections will miter
and others won't. Does anyone have any ideas? A newbie, I am probably
doing something wrong.

Thanks!

-Jawknee 99
*Jawknee99
Message 5 of 11 (239 Views)

Re: Wall sweeps

02-14-2006 08:28 AM in reply to: *Jawknee99
For some reason it won't post. Probably too big but I stripped a bunch of
stuff out of it.


wrote in message news:5085502@discussion.autodesk.com...
Can you post the file ?
Distinguished Contributor
DanielHurtubise
Posts: 522
Registered: ‎03-31-2004
Message 6 of 11 (239 Views)

Re: Wall sweeps

02-14-2006 08:51 AM in reply to: *Jawknee99
How big is it ?
*Jawknee99
Message 7 of 11 (239 Views)

Re: Wall sweeps

02-14-2006 10:18 AM in reply to: *Jawknee99
5 MEG, - I'll try again

wrote in message news:5085884@discussion.autodesk.com...
How big is it ?
*Jawknee99
Message 8 of 11 (239 Views)

Re: Wall sweeps

02-14-2006 10:26 AM in reply to: *Jawknee99
5 MEG, - I'll try again

wrote in message news:5085884@discussion.autodesk.com...
How big is it ?
Distinguished Contributor
DanielHurtubise
Posts: 522
Registered: ‎03-31-2004
Message 9 of 11 (239 Views)

Re: Wall sweeps

02-14-2006 10:29 AM in reply to: *Jawknee99
You can email it to me daniel.hurtubise@@lemaymichaud.com
Remove one @
Distinguished Contributor
melarch
Posts: 1,707
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 10 of 11 (239 Views)

Re: Wall sweeps

02-15-2006 04:57 AM in reply to: *Jawknee99
Use the Create-in-place tool on theModeling Design tab to sweep a profile along your wall. Also, to get Hosted sweeps to connect use the Join Geometry tool on the toolbars above the optio bar.

Mel Persin, AIA
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.