Revit Architecture

eew203
Message 1 of 4 (597 Views)
Accepted Solution

Wall material width locked?

597 Views, 3 Replies
01-17-2013 12:18 PM

I am trying to change the wall assembly of my foundations (getting rid of a layer of EIFS) and it won't let me delete the layer or change the width (although I can change it into an airbarier). Is there any way to control what parts of the wall are locked in the "edit assembly" window?

I am very new to Revit and am using a student version, I'm nt sure if that changes things. 

I'm not sure why you can't delete the EIFS layer.

Try creating a new Wall Type--select a Generic Wall (or other) and Duplicate it, rename it, then try editing the structure.

Does this work?

Or--if you have a simple wall type (concrete with no EIFS) already, place it in the project, then use Match Properties

from it to the wall that you can't change/edit.

If none of that works, please copy/paste the wall into a blank Revit project (.rvt file) and post it here.

Good luck!

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Message 2 of 4 (592 Views)

Re: Wall material width locked?

01-17-2013 12:49 PM in reply to: eew203

I'm not sure why you can't delete the EIFS layer.

Try creating a new Wall Type--select a Generic Wall (or other) and Duplicate it, rename it, then try editing the structure.

Does this work?

Or--if you have a simple wall type (concrete with no EIFS) already, place it in the project, then use Match Properties

from it to the wall that you can't change/edit.

If none of that works, please copy/paste the wall into a blank Revit project (.rvt file) and post it here.

Good luck!

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
eew203
Message 3 of 4 (569 Views)

01-21-2013 10:35 AM in reply to: ccollins

Thanks! That worked perfectly! I don't know what I did to get it locked in the beginning. 

Active Contributor
jmackniak
Message 4 of 4 (198 Views)

04-25-2014 09:21 AM in reply to: eew203