Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Uniformat Questions. Please Help!

20 REPLIES 20
Message 1 of 21
bmwm3owner
1507 Views, 20 Replies

Uniformat Questions. Please Help!

I am working on our Revit template and trying to get a model set up so that as people create walls, materials, etc, they are actually going thru the proper procedures to assemble a cohesive model. I have decided to create a few wall types and want to set them up with the assembly codes already mapped to them. Please bear in mind that I am no expert with assembly codes nor specifications.

I found the uniformatclassifications.txt file in my C: drive. I also have a RS means 2005 Assemblies Cost data book as well. Looking at the Revit .txt file vs. the RS means book, it appears that the information does not quite correlate. For example, a Revit B2010148 is a Glass Block wall. In RS Means, a B2010148 is listed as Panel, Shingle & Lap Siding.

So my question is this: Where did Autodesk get this information for their UIniformat sections? I would like to add to this file so that I can get some more details into my assemblies.

Thanks in advance.

Sash K
20 REPLIES 20
Message 21 of 21
Anonymous
in reply to: bmwm3owner

Hello Sash, We left a message to clarify over the phone and in demos, but here is the short text version.

Arcom has integrated the AIA MasterSpec into e-SPECS which most of our customers use as it is the leading master specification in the industry. Check out www.masterspec.com for more info such as "The Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) in which CSI now provides non-exclusive recognition of MasterSpec as a standard of the industry in master specifications..."