Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding the Orgin Point

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
bmwm3owner
121 Views, 1 Reply

Understanding the Orgin Point

Hello All,

I am still learning the ways of Revit. I have a consultants site plan, which was done in AutoCAD. The contours were created as polylines with a Z elevation applied to it. I typically like to stick with the consultants location of their site plan relative to its location to the 0,0,0 point. In Revit, I am still struggling to understand its orgin point. My goal is to import their site plan into Revit at my 0,0,0 point (if there is such a thing) so that when I create a toposurface and label the contours, the numbers will match their survey. I guess I am struggling with the concept of "By Shared Coordinates" and Orgin to Orgin. What do they mean exactly. Can anyone give me insight into this concept of know of a great place to begin? I know that there is also a way to have two level heads. One is shared and the other is project. I plan on trying that so that my floor level is at 100' and my contours are at say 3250'. Thanks
1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
Anonymous
in reply to: bmwm3owner

http://revitrocks.blogspot.com/2006/04/where-is-my-zero-zero.html

sashk wrote:
> Hello All,
>