Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
jimk
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 1 of 4 (703 Views)

UIstate.dat

703 Views, 3 Replies
12-14-2011 03:15 PM

Any know where I can place a UIstate.dat file that will get copied to each new launch of Revit 2012. I have the Revit.ini figured out - was able to edit the .XML file. But we have a corporate UIstate that we would like to have launch with each user. We are using the citrix client so we basically have one install and as users come in and launch Revit they are greeted with the out of the box UIstate, that file must exist somewhere that I can replace with our corporate file.

 

Thanks

Contributor
nddesign
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-09-2004
Message 2 of 4 (693 Views)

Re: UIstate.dat

12-14-2011 06:58 PM in reply to: jimk

I use a batch file to restore it, (on an as needed basis), but it would be more elegant to force it to run each revit launch.  I havent figured that bit out yet either.  Here is my batch file.  You would need to change the path location to suit your office practice  .  The xcopy command should be all on one line.

 

ECHO This will restore the uistate....
xcopy /y "C:\Users\YOUR NAME\YOUR FOLDER\UIState.dat" "C:\Users\YOUR NAME\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\Revit\Autodesk Revit Architecture 2012"
echo done

Active Contributor
jimk
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 3 of 4 (676 Views)

Re: UIstate.dat

12-15-2011 02:20 PM in reply to: jimk

Thank you for your time -

 

So there is no way to control this from the get go? Like with the INI file? It just seems some default UIstate file gets thrown in there on first launch, I was just hoping to tell it which one to do.

 

We are on a cloud environment using citrix. As new users log in, they will be running Revit for the first time. I just want it to use a predetermined UIstate. Was hoping to find out where the location of that was, or where it gets the out of the box one. If I could control in my deploy or somewhere that would be great.

 

Thanks for the response,

Jim

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 4 of 4 (649 Views)

Re: UIstate.dat

12-20-2011 07:44 AM in reply to: jimk

jimk,

 

Hello. You could build a script to replace the user UIState.dat file with a corporate one, but each user can make changes to their file after they launch. Your script would need to replace the file after each launch.

 

It sounds like you have some needs outside the current design of the application. I would suggest you make a request to our development group for them to possibly include new functionality in a future release.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

 

The more information you include on your needs, the better they will be able to understand your need.

 

Thank you for participating in our community!

 

David Dembkoski                

 

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png

 

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support

beyond design.png

 



David Dembkoski
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!