Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
T.pot
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-25-2012
Message 1 of 7 (388 Views)
Accepted Solution

Two plane roof

388 Views, 6 Replies
12-18-2012 10:41 AM

What is the easiest way to creat a two plane roof on a house the has 6 exterior walls

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,367
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 2 of 7 (363 Views)

Re: Two plane roof

12-18-2012 12:09 PM in reply to: T.pot

If you could elaborate a bit more - we may be able to help...

 

I have added an image of an image with 6 exterior walls with a roof on top - is this what you are looking for? or something else?

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Contributor
T.pot
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-25-2012
Message 3 of 7 (340 Views)

Re: Two plane roof

12-19-2012 10:48 AM in reply to: LisaDrago

Im sorry I meant 5 exterior walls. But the roof only has two planes that run down each side of the house. Its difficult to explain exactly what im trying to create.

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 4 of 7 (332 Views)

Re: Two plane roof

12-19-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: T.pot

Please post an image or maybe even the .rvt file if it is small enough. It is very hard to provide a solution when we do not understand the problem.

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,367
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 5 of 7 (331 Views)

Re: Two plane roof

12-19-2012 11:06 AM in reply to: T.pot

How about this one? See attached pic.

 

It is all controlled by which like defines the slope. You can specify which portion defines how the roof slopes.

See attached image. Only the two sides define the slope. When you select a line in the options bar you can say whether it defines the slope or not.

 

is this closer to what you are looking for?

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Contributor
T.pot
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-25-2012
Message 6 of 7 (324 Views)

Re: Two plane roof

12-19-2012 11:15 AM in reply to: LisaDrago

That is exactly how my building is. Now did you use footprint to sketch that or did you extrude it.

 

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,367
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 7 of 7 (311 Views)

Re: Two plane roof

12-19-2012 11:26 AM in reply to: T.pot

It was done by footprint.

I did it with a 1' overhang and make the two sides 'define slope'.

 

I only use the extruded roof if it is an odd shape that I can't use the footprint of the building to get.

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.