Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Mentor
286 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Post 1 of 5
Accepted Solution

Tagging a 3D View

295 Views, 4 Replies
12-30-2013 10:00 AM

I know that you cannot tag a Revit original 3D view, marked "{3D}" from memory, but I have recently tagged a 3D view of my own creation quite successfully.  However I created a new 3D view today, in another project, but could not get the tags to work.  Explicitly the 'create instance' in the right click menu of a Tag family member was greyed (sorry grayed) out!  I then opened the previous 3D view that had been successfully tagged in a previous project to see what might be the differences in the views but only found that the same thing was now happening there!  Both views have locked orientations set on their home views.  I'm baffled, any ideas?

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK

I've realised what was happening. I was trying to create a 'tag' from the 'Project Browser' rather than the 'Tag' ribbon! Why what I was doing, does not work, seems a bit obscure but all sorted now.

Mentor
214 Posts
27 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Post 2 of 5

Re: Tagging a 3D View

12-30-2013 10:18 AM in reply to: IMCornish
You must Lock the 3D View first, then Tag it.
Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Specialist
Autodesk Revit Expert Elite
Valued Mentor
286 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Post 3 of 5

Re: Tagging a 3D View

12-31-2013 02:47 AM in reply to: cbcarch

 


cbcarch wrote:
You must Lock the 3D View first, then Tag it.

You missed my last line "Both views have locked orientations set on their home views.  I'm baffled, any ideas?"

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
3,485 Posts
998 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Post 4 of 5

Re: Tagging a 3D View

12-31-2013 06:26 AM in reply to: IMCornish

By chance, are those 3D Camera Views? Elements in Camera Views cannot be Tagged if the View is created as a "Perspective" View.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
286 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Post 5 of 5

Re: Tagging a 3D View

01-24-2014 02:12 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

I've realised what was happening. I was trying to create a 'tag' from the 'Project Browser' rather than the 'Tag' ribbon! Why what I was doing, does not work, seems a bit obscure but all sorted now.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post