Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stair Problem

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
792 Views, 6 Replies

Stair Problem

Hi all.

I'm pretty new to the world of Revit, having just made the dreaded switch from AutoCAD. For the most part I'm finding it pretty easy going which is a blessing.

Anyway, I'm trying to make a stair like the one shown in the image I have attached. Basically, the stair starts out as normal, and splits in 2 directions after the 12th riser. Can anyone tell me how this can be done while avoiding tearing my hair out at the same time?

Thanks in advance.

Neal.
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Alfredo_Medina
in reply to: Anonymous

Neal,

Since Revit does not allow more than two chains of segments for the stair boundaries,you have to do this in two pieces. Once you are finished, you can convert the two pieces into one by creating a group. The two pieces are these: one that is an 'L' shape, going from the bottom to the top, let's say from Level 1 to Level 2, with the fancy first two steps and all that. The second part is just a flight that goes from the landing of the 'L' shape to Level 2. To do that second part, you need to go into the stairs properties dialog box and specify a certain base offset value (the landing height) and also specify Level 2 as the top offset. Then, for the L part, you need to edit the railing on the side that receives the small flight, so that people can go up and down from either side.

Alfredo Medina
Planta1.com
Online training of
AutoCAD Revit Architecture Suite

Alfredo Medina _________________________________________________________________ ______
Licensed Architect (Florida) | Freelance Instructor | Autodesk Expert Elite (on Revit) | Profile on Linkedin
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous