Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
serialkill
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 1 of 8 (259 Views)

Slowing down on particular levels

259 Views, 7 Replies
05-08-2012 12:43 AM

Dear Revit users,

I am working with revit since 08, and there was this little annoying bug - in the middle of working process some levels become super slow - adding walls becomes a big task. At the beginning everything works great, but (I suspect) at some point I add curtain inside the room, something goes wrong and the level becomes slow. It does not help even if I remove curtain walls or purge unused or duplicate window or make separate plan view - if floor area with several basic walls is visible level becomes slow. 

Have you experienced the same problem or have any suggestion, please help.

Thank you in advanced.

 

Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 8 (253 Views)

Re: Slowing down on particular levels

05-08-2012 02:15 AM in reply to: serialkill

since you are experienced user of Revit, you must have done some basic remedies.

Still I am listing few of the smaller actions any we never know whick could be of big benfit:

You may try these:

  • Try to minimze use of In place families.
  • Open the file with 'Audit'
  • Do Purge Unused, remove unnecessary CAD Links, Extra views, try to remove warnings from model
  • Use Compact File while saving (recommended to use after every 50 saves or after every 2-3 days)

You can also try to see in any of previuos version  (backups )of file to check whether it works fine or not. It may help you to identity the date and time when file got currupted/slowed.

 

In Parallel, Also report this problem to Autodesk Technical Support and contact your local Autodesk reseller. They may ask you to send the revit file for their review.

 

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)
Contributor
serialkill
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 3 of 8 (230 Views)

Re: Slowing down on particular levels

05-09-2012 02:09 AM in reply to: parveen.revit

Thank you  for your suggestions. Well it didn't solve the problem.

Also finding revit support is incredibly difficult.

 

Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 4 of 8 (222 Views)

Re: Slowing down on particular levels

05-09-2012 07:53 AM in reply to: serialkill

are you on subscription.

if yes, login into your account and contact 'Technical Support'.

OR try to locate a reseller using 'Support' in the menu bar at the top of this dicussion group screen.

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)
Active Contributor
GlynnisP
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Message 5 of 8 (219 Views)

Re: Slowing down on particular levels

05-09-2012 08:30 AM in reply to: serialkill

Review the usage of Design Options.  If you were using Design Options and no longer need them I suggest you Accept the primary in order to purge out the extra content. 

 

Regards,

Glynnis Patterson, Architect

www.ideatebimlink.com | www.ideateexplorer.com

 

Contributor
serialkill
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 6 of 8 (211 Views)

Re: Slowing down on particular levels

05-09-2012 11:53 AM in reply to: GlynnisP

Thank you for your suggestions.

I tried opening the same file on other computers - same problem. Since I am student I do not get tech support. I uplouded my project here http://www.4shared.com/file/PRgECjac/multi_centre2012_05.html?

I have problems with levels - shops2.2 and Office.2 other floors works just fine.

If you could look i would be really glad.

Thank you in advance. 

P.s. project is done in revit 2013. Still not sure how to save it to previous versions.

 

Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 7 of 8 (202 Views)

Re: Slowing down on particular levels

05-09-2012 08:39 PM in reply to: serialkill

there is no option in Revit in previous versions.

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)
Contributor
serialkill
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 8 of 8 (182 Views)

Re: Slowing down on particular levels

05-11-2012 03:09 AM in reply to: serialkill

Solve my problem by dublicating a slow level. This makes new(exact copy of slow level) level that is much faster. I still do not know why or for how long ( it has a period..), but now it is OK. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.