Revit Architecture

Reply
*Dave F.
Message 1 of 6 (204 Views)

Rotating a plan elevation symbol.

204 Views, 5 Replies
09-25-2006 06:33 AM
Hi

I got a few newbie problems.

My grid is only appearing on one level.
I believe this maybe because the grids in elevation don't cross over the
levels.
However these elevation grids don't appear because, I think, the plan
elevation symbols are perpendicular to my rotated grid.

How do I rotate them so they're perpendicular?

Cheers

Dave F.
*C Ryan
Message 2 of 6 (204 Views)

Re: Rotating a plan elevation symbol.

09-25-2006 08:38 AM in reply to: *Dave F.
I'm a little confused with your question, however to rotate anything, just
click on it and hit the rotate command. It's on the top row of buttons,
next to move & copy.

"Dave F." wrote in message
news:5339714@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi

I got a few newbie problems.

My grid is only appearing on one level.
I believe this maybe because the grids in elevation don't cross over the
levels.
However these elevation grids don't appear because, I think, the plan
elevation symbols are perpendicular to my rotated grid.

How do I rotate them so they're perpendicular?

Cheers

Dave F.
*Dave F.
Message 3 of 6 (204 Views)

Re: Rotating a plan elevation symbol.

09-25-2006 03:46 PM in reply to: *Dave F.
> the plan
> elevation symbols are perpendicular

That should have read: aren't

I don't think you can rotate the symbols using rotate.
I've been told the way to do it is to draw a wall which the symbol does
snap to.

Cheers
Dave F.

C Ryan wrote:
> I'm a little confused with your question, however to rotate anything, just
> click on it and hit the rotate command. It's on the top row of buttons,
> next to move & copy.
>
> "Dave F." wrote in message
> news:5339714@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Hi
>
> I got a few newbie problems.
>
> My grid is only appearing on one level.
> I believe this maybe because the grids in elevation don't cross over the
> levels.
> However these elevation grids don't appear because, I think, the plan
> elevation symbols are perpendicular to my rotated grid.
>
> How do I rotate them so they're perpendicular?
>
> Cheers
>
> Dave F.
*C Ryan
Message 4 of 6 (204 Views)

Re: Rotating a plan elevation symbol.

09-25-2006 07:00 PM in reply to: *Dave F.
You've been told? Don't be scared to try stuff, it's amazing what you'll
find out by experimenting. Well, I can tell you that it works fine.
There's actually 2 ways to rotate a elevation symbol.
1. Click on it and select the rotate command.
2. Click on it and use the rotate icon that shows up next to the symbol.


"Dave F." wrote in message
news:5340530@discussion.autodesk.com...
> the plan
> elevation symbols are perpendicular

That should have read: aren't

I don't think you can rotate the symbols using rotate.
I've been told the way to do it is to draw a wall which the symbol does
snap to.

Cheers
Dave F.

C Ryan wrote:
> I'm a little confused with your question, however to rotate anything, just
> click on it and hit the rotate command. It's on the top row of buttons,
> next to move & copy.
>
> "Dave F." wrote in message
> news:5339714@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Hi
>
> I got a few newbie problems.
>
> My grid is only appearing on one level.
> I believe this maybe because the grids in elevation don't cross over the
> levels.
> However these elevation grids don't appear because, I think, the plan
> elevation symbols are perpendicular to my rotated grid.
>
> How do I rotate them so they're perpendicular?
>
> Cheers
>
> Dave F.
*sonya
Message 5 of 6 (204 Views)

Re: Rotating a plan elevation symbol.

09-25-2006 07:15 PM in reply to: *Dave F.
if you draw a wall you ensure that your elevation is pointing exactly where
you want it to point (i.e. parallel with the elevation).
using the rotate command is fine if you know what the rotation should be,
but if you don't and decimal places are involved you could be a little bit
off - which will be a problem when someone measures off the exported dwg
elevation (which they will, even if you tell them not to)


"C Ryan" wrote in message
news:5340644@discussion.autodesk.com...
You've been told? Don't be scared to try stuff, it's amazing what you'll
find out by experimenting. Well, I can tell you that it works fine.
There's actually 2 ways to rotate a elevation symbol.
1. Click on it and select the rotate command.
2. Click on it and use the rotate icon that shows up next to the symbol.


"Dave F." wrote in message
news:5340530@discussion.autodesk.com...
> the plan
> elevation symbols are perpendicular

That should have read: aren't


I don't think you can rotate the symbols using rotate.
I've been told the way to do it is to draw a wall which the symbol does
snap to.

Cheers
Dave F.

C Ryan wrote:
> I'm a little confused with your question, however to rotate anything, just
> click on it and hit the rotate command. It's on the top row of buttons,
> next to move & copy.
>
> "Dave F." wrote in message
> news:5339714@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Hi
>
> I got a few newbie problems.
>
> My grid is only a
ppearing on one level.
> I believe this maybe because the grids in elevation don't cross over the
> levels.
> However these elevation grids don't appear because, I think, the plan
> elevation symbols are perpendicular to my rotated grid.
>
> How do I rotate them so they're perpendicular?
>
> Cheers
>
> Dave F.
*C Ryan
Message 6 of 6 (204 Views)

Re: Rotating a plan elevation symbol.

09-26-2006 06:22 AM in reply to: *Dave F.
you can also move that little rotation icon that shows up to a reference
point and rotate it.

"sonya" wrote in message
news:5340662@discussion.autodesk.com...
if you draw a wall you ensure that your elevation is pointing exactly where
you want it to point (i.e. parallel with the elevation).
using the rotate command is fine if you know what the rotation should be,
but if you don't and decimal places are involved you could be a little bit
off - which will be a problem when someone measures off the exported dwg
elevation (which they will, even if you tell them not to)


"C Ryan" wrote in message
news:5340644@discussion.autodesk.com...
You've been told? Don't be scared to try stuff, it's amazing what you'll
find out by experimenting. Well, I can tell you that it works fine.
There's actually 2 ways to rotate a elevation symbol.
1. Click on it and select the rotate command.
2. Click on it and use the rotate icon that shows up next to the symbol.


"Dave F." wrote in message
news:5340530@discussion.autodesk.com...
> the plan
> elevation symbols are perpendicular

That should have read: aren't


I don't think you can rotate the symbols using rotate.
I've been told the way to do it is to draw a wall which the symbol does
snap to.

Cheers
Dave F.

C Ryan wrote:
> I'm a little confused with your question, however to rotate anything, just
> click on it and hit the rotate command. It's on the top row of buttons,
> next to move & copy.
>
> "Dave F." wrote in message
> news:5339714@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Hi
>
> I got a few newbie problems.
>
> My grid is only a
ppearing on one level.
> I believe this maybe because the grids in elevation don't cross over the
> levels.
> However these elevation grids don't appear because, I think, the plan
> elevation symbols are perpendicular to my rotated grid.
>
> How do I rotate them so they're perpendicular?
>
> Cheers
>
> Dave F.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.