Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Room Data Sheets - Pulling data from Excel Document ?

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
Anonymous
2663 Views, 2 Replies

Room Data Sheets - Pulling data from Excel Document ?

Hi - this is probably a case of trying to run before learning to walk, but I'm interested to know if this is possible  We are working on a school project (32 classroom), and whilst we are not doing the whole project as either BIM, or even fully Revit based, we are trying to use it to tease out a few 'what if ?' and 'can Revit do this ?' as well as use it as a test bed for the exchange of info across the design team.

I'm still relatively new to Revit - and am working on building up some fundamental skills.

We inherit a large number of our project brief requirements in spreadsheet format (some of which is COBE format, most not).  I've read a bit on 'pushing' data out from Revit into Excel, but can you 'pull' it in from a pre-completed Excel spreadsheet - for say Room Data Sheets ?

As an example, Room Data Sheets have a host of requirements and finishes. Could we set the spreadsheet up to say refer to a specific floor finish (description + NBS/specification reference), and have that then brought into the Revit project as a tag / finish ? Same with ceiling finishes etc.

I realise this is probably a quite complex area to get into, If I at least knew it was possible, I would spend a bit more time investigating it as it seems we will receive more of our briefs in this format, and it would be a real time saver - especially if the data were linked and totally two-way.

Many thanks

Martin

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
bimandict
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

I don't have the whole answer for you but I can point you in a few directions to get started.