Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
sabtf7
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 1 of 23 (3,897 Views)

revit to sketchup

3897 Views, 22 Replies
04-12-2012 03:27 PM

So i have designed in revit this beautiful building for my thesis project and it is very curvy and i have tried several different ways to import it into sketchup but every time i do the buildings curves are such a mess that i can't even work with it. Is there a way to import without loosing the design? please help!

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 2 of 23 (3,893 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-12-2012 04:20 PM in reply to: sabtf7

SketchUp doesn't do curves.

Active Member
sabtf7
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 3 of 23 (3,889 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-12-2012 04:39 PM in reply to: vector2

Is there a way to make my building into a component or something.. There must be some kind of setting to help it export as a simplified curve right?

 

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 4 of 23 (3,886 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-12-2012 04:47 PM in reply to: sabtf7

"a way to make my building into a component"

 

Please explain in more ways than one what you mean by that.

Active Member
sabtf7
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 5 of 23 (3,876 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-12-2012 05:05 PM in reply to: vector2

I just started using revit about a month ago so I don't know any of the tricks or techniques to making a building more simplified in terms of file size, or grouping walls so they stick together. When I say massing I mean importing what I have as one object so that if I were to import it into sketchup it wouldn't freak out on me because the building would be one large piece. On another note would it help if I exported my revit file to another program before importing it to sketchup or are there any buttons I can click to help the export better define the curved geometry.

Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 6 of 23 (3,836 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-12-2012 10:45 PM in reply to: sabtf7

have you tried exporting DWG, DXF, DWF, FBX file format out of Revit (with solid and wiremesh options).

Then try to import/open those into SketchUp.

 

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)
Active Member
sabtf7
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 7 of 23 (3,753 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 09:11 AM in reply to: sabtf7

How and where exactley do I go to do that that sounds promising?

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,863
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 8 of 23 (3,749 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: sabtf7

Big R > Export > CAD Formats.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
sabtf7
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 9 of 23 (3,746 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 09:22 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

yeah i got that part.  From there how do i edit my export to be a solid or wire mesh to help fix the curves so when i export they will come in as solid forms or masses in sketchup?

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 10 of 23 (3,738 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 09:27 AM in reply to: sabtf7

see attached.

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.