Revit Architecture

Reply
*XACTI
Message 1 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Revit to Blender

3381 Views, 20 Replies
05-26-2010 04:49 AM
I'm looking at Blender as a visualization suite.

1. Does anyone have had experience bringing projects form Revit to Blender?
2. Does the import and subsequent work required for visuals work OK/ no
hicups?
3. What would be the recommended work flow?
4. Would there be a significant advantage in using 3DS MAX istead?

Thank you in advance for your views.
*Nathan
Message 2 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Re: Revit to Blender

05-26-2010 04:33 PM in reply to: *XACTI
Isn't blender free? - just d/l and try it out.



"XACTI >" <" "> wrote in message
news:6397541@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm looking at Blender as a visualization suite.

1. Does anyone have had experience bringing projects form Revit to Blender?
2. Does the import and subsequent work required for visuals work OK/ no
hicups?
3. What would be the recommended work flow?
4. Would there be a significant advantage in using 3DS MAX istead?

Thank you in advance for your views.
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 3 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Re: Revit to Blender

05-26-2010 08:33 PM in reply to: *XACTI
it wouldn't make any sense to
render a revit project in blender
when you have MentalRay in revit..

blender rendering is a joke
compared to MentalRay..
*Scott D Davis \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Re: Revit to Blender

05-26-2010 09:27 PM in reply to: *XACTI
Check with Jeffrey McGrew at www.becausewecan.org He has used Revit and
Blender quite often as far as I know.

"XACTI >" <" "> wrote in message
news:6397541@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm looking at Blender as a visualization suite.

1. Does anyone have had experience bringing projects form Revit to Blender?
2. Does the import and subsequent work required for visuals work OK/ no
hicups?
3. What would be the recommended work flow?
4. Would there be a significant advantage in using 3DS MAX istead?

Thank you in advance for your views.
*m1gu37
Message 5 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Re: Revit to Blender

05-27-2010 02:05 PM in reply to: *XACTI
whatever you have to tell your self...

http://www.blender.org/features-gallery/gallery/art-gallery/
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 6 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Re: Revit to Blender

05-27-2010 02:37 PM in reply to: *XACTI
m1gu37-

many people don't understand what
precision illumination is..

look at this blender rendering and then
i will post a MentalRay rendering..

blender looks nice but it doesn't
have the depth that you get with the
precision lighting of MentalRay..
blender is in the same category as
chief architect or sketchup rendering-
or even the revit "realistic" view..
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 7 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Re: Revit to Blender

05-27-2010 02:38 PM in reply to: *XACTI
MentalRay- a horse of a different color..

the first one is more like 2D- and the
second one is more like 3D..
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 8 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Re: Revit to Blender

05-27-2010 02:53 PM in reply to: *XACTI
here is an exterior rendering with blender
and you can see it's nothing like MentalRay..

it's slightly better than the old AccuRender..
*Mike Maenpaa
Message 9 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Re: Revit to Blender

05-27-2010 02:59 PM in reply to: *XACTI
Wouldn't it be better to show the same scene rendered in both Revit and
Blender?
Those two rooms are not the same.
The first one has windows and different light sources.

Mike

wrote in message news:6399025@discussion.autodesk.com...
MentalRay- a horse of a different color..

the first one is more like 2D- and the
second one is more like 3D..
*Louis Cypher
Message 10 of 21 (3,381 Views)

Re: Revit to Blender

05-27-2010 03:04 PM in reply to: *XACTI
you missed the point entirely which is 100% unsuprising


did you do that rendering? no so ...
we have had to find other methods of rendering because currently we dont
have the luxury of time.. we are doing real work and till we get render farm
capabilities in Revit rendering... we have to use something else Edited by: Discussion_Admin on May 28, 2010 10:55 AM
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.