Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
yoiyoi
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 1 of 5 (296 Views)

revit to 3d max

296 Views, 4 Replies
05-16-2005 10:11 AM
i would like to save some revit files and later import them into 3d max for rendering. the computer i would use for the max rendering would not have revit installed so what would be the best format to save it in .
that is, can i open 3dmax and use import to bring in the revit file?
*Scott Davis
Message 2 of 5 (296 Views)

Re: revit to 3d max

05-16-2005 01:45 PM in reply to: yoiyoi
export out from Revit 8.0 from a 3D view, File>Export>DWG. You can change
the options in the export dialog box to export 3D faces or 3D solids.
Import the resulting 3D DWG into Max.

wrote in message news:4846101@discussion.autodesk.com...
i would like to save some revit files and later import them into 3d max for
rendering. the computer i would use for the max rendering would not have
revit installed so what would be the best format to save it in .
that is, can i open 3dmax and use import to bring in the revit file?
Distinguished Contributor
yoiyoi
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 3 of 5 (296 Views)

Re: revit to 3d max

05-16-2005 03:14 PM in reply to: yoiyoi
i am using revit 7. will 3dmax be able to import a rvt file if revit is not installed on the same computer?
*Scott Davis
Message 4 of 5 (296 Views)

Re: revit to 3d max

05-16-2005 08:19 PM in reply to: yoiyoi
You cannot import a Revit file into Viz or Max, it must be a DWG. Even from
Revit 7, export to DWG from a 3D view. Open the DWG in Max.

wrote in message news:4846640@discussion.autodesk.com...
i am using revit 7. will 3dmax be able to import a rvt file if revit is not
installed on the same computer?
Member
mrcamper
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-24-2005
Message 5 of 5 (296 Views)

Re: revit to 3d max

05-24-2005 11:39 AM in reply to: yoiyoi
Is Autodesk ever going to fix the flipped normal issues that occur when importing a dwg into MAX?

/open rant/
This situation of flipped normals from importd dwg files has existed for YEARS, the problems have existed since the first version of MAX (maybe beyond)???

Autodesk has never had a good hand on 3d, and now they control Revit "and" MAX ....sigh.
/close rant/
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.