Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
yoiyoi
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 1 of 5 (295 Views)

revit to 3d max

295 Views, 4 Replies
05-16-2005 10:11 AM
i would like to save some revit files and later import them into 3d max for rendering. the computer i would use for the max rendering would not have revit installed so what would be the best format to save it in .
that is, can i open 3dmax and use import to bring in the revit file?
*Scott Davis
Message 2 of 5 (295 Views)

Re: revit to 3d max

05-16-2005 01:45 PM in reply to: yoiyoi
export out from Revit 8.0 from a 3D view, File>Export>DWG. You can change
the options in the export dialog box to export 3D faces or 3D solids.
Import the resulting 3D DWG into Max.

wrote in message news:4846101@discussion.autodesk.com...
i would like to save some revit files and later import them into 3d max for
rendering. the computer i would use for the max rendering would not have
revit installed so what would be the best format to save it in .
that is, can i open 3dmax and use import to bring in the revit file?
Distinguished Contributor
yoiyoi
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 3 of 5 (295 Views)

Re: revit to 3d max

05-16-2005 03:14 PM in reply to: yoiyoi
i am using revit 7. will 3dmax be able to import a rvt file if revit is not installed on the same computer?
*Scott Davis
Message 4 of 5 (295 Views)

Re: revit to 3d max

05-16-2005 08:19 PM in reply to: yoiyoi
You cannot import a Revit file into Viz or Max, it must be a DWG. Even from
Revit 7, export to DWG from a 3D view. Open the DWG in Max.

wrote in message news:4846640@discussion.autodesk.com...
i am using revit 7. will 3dmax be able to import a rvt file if revit is not
installed on the same computer?
Member
mrcamper
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-24-2005
Message 5 of 5 (295 Views)

Re: revit to 3d max

05-24-2005 11:39 AM in reply to: yoiyoi
Is Autodesk ever going to fix the flipped normal issues that occur when importing a dwg into MAX?

/open rant/
This situation of flipped normals from importd dwg files has existed for YEARS, the problems have existed since the first version of MAX (maybe beyond)???

Autodesk has never had a good hand on 3d, and now they control Revit "and" MAX ....sigh.
/close rant/
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!