Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
Ricardo-Maturana
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 1 of 6 (1,096 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit Server 2013 Set up between Joint Venture Architects

1096 Views, 5 Replies
11-16-2012 11:24 AM

The Revit 2013 Server will be hosted by X at the USA office. It is running on Windows 2012 Server, running as a VM on a Windows 2012 Hyper-V Host system. For the time being, we have allocated the following resources to this VM:

 

Dedicated 1GB Network Interface

Single Intel Xeon ES2407 Processor @ 2.20GHz

12GB RAM

500GB Storage on RAID 5 Array

 

The server name is X1. This VM will become a member server in the X domain (Xarchitects).

 

Z has a dedicated server which will run Revit 2013 Accelerator. This server will become a member server in their domain.

 

We will create a Site-to-Site VPN tunnel between the RUSSIA and USA offices. Access to this tunnel will be limited to the following nodes:

 

Revit 2013 Host Server (USA)

Revit 2013 Accelerator (RUSSIA)

Z workstations working on this project

X workstations working on this project

 

In USA, we have a dedicated E100 running at 100MB/s synchronous for this tunnel. 

 

When the tunnel is up and tested, we will create a two-way Trust Relationship between our domains. The FSMO roles in the X domain are held by a Windows 2003 Server, but the schema has been updated to 2008 R2. Once the Trust is created, we should be able to perform cross-domain authentication.

 

We need to agree on a method for DNS resolution. In particular, Revit workstations at Z need to be able to resolve the host name of the Revit 2013 Host Server in USA. This can be done with a static A record on the local DNS Server in RUSSIA.

 

We will then proceed to connect the Revit 2013 Accelerator with the Revit 2013 Host Server. We will be using BlueStreak to facilitate communications for this collaboration. 

 

 

AUTODESK  or anyone out there...in theory would this work?

don't know if Revit Server will install on Server 2012 your going to have to test that

its only supported on server 2008

in theory this should work but you are going to test to see if it will work

In theory, as long as the workstations can resolve by both host name and IP address, it sounds like what you're doing is on the right track.

Windows server 2012 does not work well with revit server 2013.  After much hair pulling and not getting proper answers from Autodesk.  We created another virtual server using Windows 2008 R2 and everything worked perfectly as it is supposed to and described in the videos and literature.

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,671
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 6 (1,094 Views)

Re: Revit Server 2013 Set up between Joint Venture Architects

11-16-2012 11:27 AM in reply to: Ricardo-Maturana

don't know if Revit Server will install on Server 2012 your going to have to test that

its only supported on server 2008

in theory this should work but you are going to test to see if it will work

Contributor
Ricardo-Maturana
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 3 of 6 (1,077 Views)

Re: Revit Server 2013 Set up between Joint Venture Architects

11-16-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: DarrenP

Autodesk veryfied that 2012 is fine.  Thank you for the response.

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 4 of 6 (1,043 Views)

Re: Revit Server 2013 Set up between Joint Venture Architects

11-19-2012 01:02 PM in reply to: Ricardo-Maturana

In theory, as long as the workstations can resolve by both host name and IP address, it sounds like what you're doing is on the right track.



Chris Aquino
Knowledge Domain Expert
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Contributor
Ricardo-Maturana
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 5 of 6 (914 Views)

Re: Revit Server 2013 Set up between Joint Venture Architects

12-13-2012 06:05 AM in reply to: Ricardo-Maturana

Windows server 2012 does not work well with revit server 2013.  After much hair pulling and not getting proper answers from Autodesk.  We created another virtual server using Windows 2008 R2 and everything worked perfectly as it is supposed to and described in the videos and literature.

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,865
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 6 of 6 (906 Views)

Re: Revit Server 2013 Set up between Joint Venture Architects

12-13-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: Ricardo-Maturana

Ricardo, I don't know why you bothered yourself with the other operating system that was not even supported. Most of the scarce documentation available refers to Windows Server 2008 R2.

 

I agree in part with your statements in another thread. I don't agree on the part where you say that Revit Server should be eliminated. I think it is still a good idea. I agree on the part that says that there should be better support. The issue involves knowledge on both IT and Revit topics, but it is hard to find people who can set up Revit Server. Usually the guys who know Revit, don't know about IT, and the guys who know IT don't know about Revit, and some guys who know IT and Revit don't want to help or are not available. This Revit Server thing can be very frustrating. Glad to know that it is starting to work for you.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.