Revit Architecture

Contributor
adeal000
Message 31 of 46 (1,083 Views)

Re: Revit Backwards Compatibility

03-28-2012 11:38 PM in reply to: bobmayflower

I am an interior designer, and most interior designers I know are quickly becoming loyal users of Google SketchUp. They prefer Google SketchUP over AutoCAD Arch, Revit Arch, and 3Ds Max. This is a trend I see around the country and from speaking with friends abroad (London), internationally too. It seems that Autodesk's Revit and AutoCAD are taking big hits in sales because of Google SketchUP.  With the new and easy to use plug-ins and its user friendliness, alot of former AutoCAD users are shifting to Google SketchUP and Vectorworks. Again, from my experience both locally (Wisconsin) and abroad (London), small firms and some large design firms do not want to switch to Revit. The backwards incompatibility of Revit is one big reason why designers do not want to switch to Revit.

Autodesk Sales Agent Scott talked about subscription, but he and Autodesk should also look into the fact that small businesses cannot afford to change to a new release every year. While it is important to keep up with technology, it is also important to make a program flexible. Afterall every program is pages and pages of code. If Adobe and Microsoft and even other Autodesk products such as AutoCAD can have backwards compatibility, why not Revit?

Cheers,

Anthony

Valued Mentor
vector2
Message 32 of 46 (1,076 Views)

03-29-2012 12:30 AM in reply to: adeal000

"designers I know"

People who sketch buildings and interiors are talented artists who use a wide variety of drawing

tools. SketchUp is somewhat popular for that, as is 3Ds Max Design. There are many of these

drawing programs because these artists all like something different for drawing. With the Revit

2010 release, Autodesk expanded the massing tools to allow these artists to work closer to Revit.