Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

REVIT ARCH HELP - Apply metal roofing panel to existing roof

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
1966 Views, 5 Replies

REVIT ARCH HELP - Apply metal roofing panel to existing roof

Hi guys, 

I have a project that I have to present tomorrow and I am very new to Revit Architecture

I have drawn my sloped roof (by footprint) and all I need to do is apply this metal roofing panel material.

Please help guys, I need to present this ASAP!!!

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
rosskirby
in reply to: Anonymous

Can you clarify what you're trying to do?  Do you just want to:

1. apply a surface pattern that represents the corrugated material?  
  2. have it render as if the roof is made of that material?  
  3. actually model the surface of the roof so that it is corrugated?

The answers to each of those three questions are different, and increasingly complex and/or time-consuming.

1. Edit the roof material and create a new surface model pattern with parallel lines a few inches apart.  Keep in mind that as you zoom out, those lines will "converge" and your roof will appear to be a solid gray halftone.
  2. Similar to (1), but with the added step of creating an appearance attribute with associated bump map to create the actual corrugation.  Note that the corrugation will only appear in a rendering, not in a live view of the model.
  3. Several different methods to skin this cat, but the fastest by far is to create a horizontal curtain wall family and define the mullions with the corrugation profile.  Do a search on clay tile roofs in Revit and follow those instructions.  The process is similar, regardles of whether it's a clay tile or a corrugated panel.

Hope that helps.

Ross Kirby
Principal
Dynamik Design
www.dynamikdesign.com