Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
tonkata
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Message 1 of 7 (3,951 Views)

Revit & Windows 8.1

3951 Views, 6 Replies
10-28-2013 01:43 PM
Is anyone successfully running Revit 2014 on Windows 8.1 or 8.1 Pro, on 15" Retnia MacBook Pro running Bootcamp?

I attempted installing it a few days ago, but firstly kept getting some crazy "Windows Communication Error", and after i maraculously got it loaded and ran Revit, the bottom right menu would flicker lick crazy.

I was totally dumbfounded by the whole experience!
New Member
zgordon643
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Message 2 of 7 (3,576 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

11-08-2013 03:31 PM in reply to: tonkata

I just downloaded VM fusion which is another parallel and I loaded windows 8.1 on my Mac 15" and when I went to download revit I am getting a connection timeout to the Autodesk download loaction.

 

Any help is appreciated I need to get this up and running I have Class deadlines to meet this week.

Distinguished Contributor
tonkata
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Message 3 of 7 (3,511 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

11-10-2013 05:07 AM in reply to: zgordon643

Same problem here zgordon643, I ended up just going back to Windows 7 :smileywink:

Active Member
cstoray
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2012
Message 4 of 7 (3,500 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

11-10-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: tonkata

This has to be some sort of driver issue. I'm running it on Windows 8.1, but not with that hardware. And I don't imagine Apple is too worried about edge cases like ours to fix whatever is going on with those drivers and their hardware.

New Member
zgordon643
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Message 5 of 7 (3,398 Views)

Re: Revit

11-12-2013 01:50 PM in reply to: cstoray
It is not a driver problem as a student I get a revit version one behind the professional version which is now up to version 13 but the student edition must be version 12 which came out before the windows 8.1 update
New Member
sam.deroo.t5125
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2013
Message 6 of 7 (2,808 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

12-03-2013 12:42 AM in reply to: tonkata

Apparently there is hope. If you shut down your weak video card (Intel hd 4000) the program seems to start up as normal, because of the fact that it can only work on the good video card. Don't ask me why it does this, my teacher came with this solution. 

The negative side is, that your computer will use more energy, so when you're done using your program you should turn the weak card back on so the pc can choose again by itself.

New Member
msknutson1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-27-2014
Message 7 of 7 (668 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

05-28-2014 09:06 AM in reply to: sam.deroo.t5125

How do I shut down my weak video card?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!