Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Post 1 of 10
Accepted Solution

revit 2014 pause/hang up

407 Views, 9 Replies
03-28-2014 04:29 PM
revit is hanging up/ pausing for 5-7 secs every 15 secs....really slows progress. it feels like the processor is busy doing something else. os: windows 7 64 bit processor: intel core i7 870 @ 2.93GHz ram: 8 gb video: ATI Radeon HD 5700 series (drives 2 monitors, one for palettes) thanks in advance for your input

Do you have Bentley ProjectWise installed on you computer?

If you disable the Antivirus does it make a diffrence?

Keep be me updated

Product Support
298 Posts
58 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Post 2 of 10

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 08:23 AM in reply to: mtrblt

Do you have Bentley ProjectWise installed on you computer?

If you disable the Antivirus does it make a diffrence?

Keep be me updated



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Post 3 of 10

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 09:21 AM in reply to: Alaaeldin_Alsahli

Yes...that appears to solve it.  

Any idea what Revit is doing that it's holding up?  

I use AVG.

Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Post 4 of 10

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 09:22 AM in reply to: mtrblt
And no I don't have Bentley ProjectWise....
Product Support
298 Posts
58 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Post 5 of 10

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 09:33 AM in reply to: mtrblt

I am not Familiar with AVG but you may have to check if you could add Revit.exe as exception to exclude it from the scaning. 

http://www.avg.com/ca-en/faq.num-5190

i found this link. you may need to add these folders

C:\Program Files\Autodesk

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared 

C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk

C:\Users\XXXXXXX(you user name)xxxxxxxxxxxxxx\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk

C:\Users\XXXXXXX(you user name)xxxxxxxxxxxxxx\AppData\Local\Autodesk



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Product Support
298 Posts
58 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Post 6 of 10

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 09:34 AM in reply to: mtrblt

Please keep me posted



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Post 7 of 10

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

04-01-2014 04:37 PM in reply to: Alaaeldin_Alsahli

Hi Alaaeldin,

 

I added the folder exceptions and it seemed like it worked for a while but it's hanging up again.

Temporarily disabling the anti virus software definitely makes a difference, however.

 

AVG also allows you to applications as exceptions so I'm trying that w/ Revit.exe and a few other autodesk processes and services that I can see in the task manager...I will let you know how it goes.

 

Other than that, can you reccomend an anti virus program that plays well w/ autodesk stuff?

 

Thanks!

Product Support
298 Posts
58 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Post 8 of 10

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

04-02-2014 04:23 AM in reply to: mtrblt

Also try to add these as file exception

*.rvt
*.rfa
*.rte
*.dat
*.rws
*.slog



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Product Support
298 Posts
58 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Post 9 of 10

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

04-02-2014 04:40 AM in reply to: mtrblt

The issue with Antivirus, I can't suggest you any because one day you may have to update the antivirus and it may cause an issue with Revit Again.

The best thing is to download a trail and see if it goes well with your system.

At work we are using Microsoft Forfront Endpoint Protection and we have no issues with it.



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Active Member
10 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Post 10 of 10

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

04-07-2014 10:42 AM in reply to: Alaaeldin_Alsahli
Unfortunately file types can't be added as exceptions, only specific files (with specific names & locations).
I'm still using the temporary disable as a workaround....it's ok but not ideal.
Alaaeldin_Alsahli wrote:

Also try to add these as file exception

*.rvt
*.rfa
*.rte
*.dat
*.rws
*.slog


 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post