Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
36 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Post 1 of 17

Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

2512 Views, 16 Replies
05-30-2012 10:18 AM

Granted this is a minor issue, but when Revit 2013 is opened, before actually opening a project file, if I click the add-ins or some of the other menus, they don't appear in the right spot. See attachment as an example.

Valued Mentor
2,058 Posts
40 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Post 2 of 17

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

05-30-2012 04:53 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

 

With Revit 2013.

Minor issues might be worked out with an update at a later date.

 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Active Contributor
36 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Post 3 of 17

Not sure what your point is...

05-30-2012 06:03 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Are you suggesting I shouldn't point out issues with Revit before a certain date or that only major issues should be brought to the attention of Autodesk?  I simply pointed out an issue with the interface on an Autodesk monitored forum (after searching to see if someone has already mentioned it, by the way) which seems appropriate to me.

Valued Mentor
2,058 Posts
40 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Post 4 of 17

Re: Not sure what your point is...

05-30-2012 08:27 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

nelsonweeks wrote:

Are you suggesting I shouldn't point out issues with Revit


 

I'm only suggesting alternete support resource.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/support/

 

 

But I do appreciate your involvement in this Revit forum.

 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Active Contributor
36 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Post 5 of 17

Re: Not sure what your point is...

05-31-2012 05:28 AM in reply to: vector2

If that is your point, I suggest you say it in the initial post either before or after editorializing about the importance (or lack there of) of the post to which you are responding.

 

 You are clearly a frequent contributor to the forum . If you truly value my or anyone elses involvement in the forum, perhaps being less defensive when potential bugs are introduced would make users feel more welcome. 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Product Support
37 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Post 6 of 17

Re: Not sure what your point is...

05-31-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Hi,

This might is caused by the UIState.dat file, it contains the information about the user interface. I would suggest to make a copy, then delete your UIState.dat file, when Revit is not in use.
 You can find UIState.dat file at the following location:
%APPDATA%\Autodesk\Revit\{Revit Product Name} 2013\UIState.dat
You will need to open Revit, close it and reopen it again to see the changes. A new UIState.dat file will be created during this process.

Regards,

Barbara



Barbara Schurig
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
914 Posts
148 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Post 7 of 17

Re: Not sure what your point is...

05-31-2012 08:27 AM in reply to: nelsonweeks

You were absolutely in the right to come here and point out the graphic instability.  As Barbara pointed out above, you may need to replace your UIState file.  That basically resets the UI to what it was OOTB.  If that doesn't work, a repair may be in order.

 

Just for future reference, so that we can perhaps diagnose these problems better when they happen, could give us your computer specs (just OS, RAM, video card) and whether or not you are running Revit maximized or reduced across 1 or 2 monitors, and whether or not you've detached any of the panels or palettes?

 

Thanks.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Active Contributor
36 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Post 8 of 17

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

05-31-2012 11:55 AM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Thanks Barbara and Ross both for helping and for confirming this is a viable way to communicate potential issues.

 

I tried deleting the UIState.dat file, but the issue persists.  As for the additional information requested, I am running Windows 7 SP1 (64bit) with 16G of RAM; Core2Quad 3Ghz; NVIDIA Quadro NVS 420

 

I have two monitors but am running Revit maximized in one.  No panels or pallettes have been undocked.

 

Haven't tried a repair, mainly because I have been creating a new deployment - uninstalling and reinstalling a few times hasn't resolved it.

*Expert Elite*
914 Posts
148 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Post 9 of 17

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

05-31-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Since you're using an Nvidia graphics card, you might want to update the drivers.  I know there are some instabilities with 2013 and older Nvidia drivers, but I don't think they extend to 2012 or to the specific problem you're having.  

 

My only other though is that you could try turning off the Windows Aero theme.  I vaguely remember seeing a problem similar to yours once or twice on a different computer than the one I currently use, but the computer I'm on now is set to a Windows classic them, and I haven't bothered to change it.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Active Contributor
36 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Post 10 of 17

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

05-31-2012 01:58 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Not sure what exactly what is prompting your comments, but as you might have seen in earlier posts, Barbara (an Autodesk employee) and Ross both suggested this was not only an appropriate forum for the question, but also suggested deleteing the UIState.dat file which very well might have resolved the issue (i.e, caused the issue to desist).

 

I was simply reporting the results of the test.  If you don't appreciate my approach, I suggest you ignore my posts. If an Autodesk employee suggests I open a service ticket I will gladly do so.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post