Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
martysaid2009
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎07-07-2012
Message 1 of 4 (7,303 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit 2013 Autosave

7303 Views, 3 Replies
07-27-2012 12:52 AM

Hi there,

 

Does Revit 2013 autosave?

 

In the location where I save my revit files I see there are numerous new files ending 0001, 0002 ... etc. I assume these are autosaved files. Is this correct? If so, how can I manage this so I can switch it on or off or change how often files are autosaved?

 

Many thanks

 

Marty Said
Revit Architecture 2014
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,221
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 4 (7,294 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Autosave

07-27-2012 05:29 AM in reply to: martysaid2009

Revit doesn't autosave. Those ".001", ".002", etc. files are backup files, not autosaves. Each time you save your Project (or Family) file, the new backup files are named to one count higher. These backups are saved in the same location as the main file.

 

The maximum number of backup files allowed for a particular file is under Save As » File Save Options (the "Options..." button).

Once the maximum is surpassed, the oldest backup file is deleted.

 

⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗
Welcome to the Autodesk forums, martysaid2009!
Feel free to post any questions you may have! There are many experienced users here who generously contribute their time and effort to supporting
their peers. This is an open, peer-supported forum, so feel free to contribute any useful information or experiences to any of the topics you see here.
We hope you'll stick around a while and help strengthen the value of this community!
───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Be sure to review the Ground Rules, visit the FAQ Forum, and use the Search feature prior to posting a question, as it's likely been asked before.
⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
martysaid2009
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎07-07-2012
Message 3 of 4 (7,282 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Autosave

07-27-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

CADastrophe - thanks for the response. On the money. Greatly appreciated.

Marty Said
Revit Architecture 2014
*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 4 of 4 (7,275 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Autosave

07-27-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: martysaid2009

Please also not that the .001 etc. extensions do not appear on Workset enabled projects.

 

Instead, there is a Restore from Backup feature in the Revit interface.

 

This can be a bit tricky and is not very well understood and/or documented.

 

See this:  http://www.revitforum.org/architecture-general-revit-questions/8770-revit-back-up-no-file.html

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.