Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
ANT2080771
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-05-2011
Message 1 of 11 (274 Views)

Revit 2012

274 Views, 10 Replies
12-05-2011 11:35 AM

I just download my Revit 2012 and the Project Browser does not show options for Elevations and Sections.

It only shows Floor Plan and Ceiling Plans.

When trying to bring Windows or Door, it says it is not loaded. It asking if I want load it. Well! The next step has 20 something options but nothing to do with Windows or Doors.

How to get out of this Nightmare?

Valued Contributor
lostagain
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎10-15-2002
Message 2 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: Revit 2012

12-05-2011 01:37 PM in reply to: ANT2080771

NOOB answering a NOOB - please jump in if you know more about this than me (and I bet you do).

 

I think you may have started a project without any elevations or sections present. If you cut a section (View > Create > Section) , the project browser will add that category with the newly created section.

 

I also think you have no windows or doors loaded. You need to load one from the library (Insert > Load from Library > Load Family > (doors subdirectory of library that I can't direct you to, sorry) > pick one). Then you may be asked if you want to load a tag, don't bother at this point.

 

I'm not sure that's the end of the nightmare. Embrace the nightmare.

New Member
fnbwimp
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
Message 3 of 11 (245 Views)

Re: Revit 2012

12-05-2011 09:04 PM in reply to: ANT2080771

Hi,i have a problem here.

I build an object using revit 2012.Then when I try to load it as rfa file,it cant be loaded.

how can I load the object into revit family,so that i can used the object in any building that i build?

 

Valued Contributor
lostagain
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎10-15-2002
Message 4 of 11 (224 Views)

Re: Revit 2012

12-06-2011 08:15 AM in reply to: fnbwimp

Try dragging and dropping the file from Explorer right into the project view you want to place it in. Does that work?

Active Member
ANT2080771
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-05-2011
Message 5 of 11 (208 Views)

Re: Revit 2012

12-06-2011 01:09 PM in reply to: ANT2080771

Thank for your Help! But; I tried it before going to those steps and it goes to Program and in there I have 20 options but none of them has to do with components (Dooor, window, skylight, etc.). I cannot find the path to download those items.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 6 of 11 (201 Views)

Re: Revit 2012

12-06-2011 01:52 PM in reply to: ANT2080771

You say that you are in a nightmare. Just curious, have you had any basic training before starting to use Revit?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
ANT2080771
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-05-2011
Message 7 of 11 (198 Views)

Re: Revit 2012

12-06-2011 01:59 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I took classes and got the tutorial book that has a CD exercises. Trained for about 6 months.

I did not had this kind issue. It looks like the download 2012 Revit did not load 100%.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 8 of 11 (196 Views)

Re: Revit 2012

12-06-2011 02:10 PM in reply to: ANT2080771

The lack of families might have something to do with the dowload being incomplete, yes, but the lack of sections and elevation views simply means that there are not any views of that kind yet in the current project. Also, it probably indicates that Revit is not starting with one of the default templates. Maybe you need to try a new installation.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
ANT2080771
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-05-2011
Message 9 of 11 (194 Views)

Re: Revit 2012

12-06-2011 02:30 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Yes! About the Template. Because when open Revit and select Imperial; one message says "your selected template is not correct". The problem is that it never gave the chance to select one and open the drawing ....then just issues that do not go away. It took about 8 hrs to download it, I guess I need to do it again!

Valued Contributor
lostagain
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎10-15-2002
Message 10 of 11 (176 Views)

Re: Revit 2012

12-06-2011 03:22 PM in reply to: ANT2080771

ANT2080771: I'm afraid I've offered all the knowledge I have! Maybe Alfredo has further advice.

 

I would add one more thing: asking your question in this thread (instead of a separate one you started) may result in nobody noticing your question.

 

Good luck and sorry I couldn't resolve your issue.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!