Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
rumbleseat
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎07-11-2005
Message 1 of 21 (127 Views)

Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

127 Views, 20 Replies
06-01-2006 09:59 AM
I just correclty tagged 90 rooms on the 4th floor of my building. Floors 5 through 8 are identical. Is there some Revit efficiency I can harness to quickly copy the room tags up the tower, floor by floor?
*Scott Davis
Message 2 of 21 (127 Views)

Re: Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

06-01-2006 10:58 AM in reply to: rumbleseat
Do a window selection, and filter everything out except Rooms and room tags.
Copy (Ctrl-C) and the go to Edit>Paste Aligned>Select Levels by Name

wrote in message news:5192549@discussion.autodesk.com...
I just correclty tagged 90 rooms on the 4th floor of my building. Floors 5
through 8 are identical. Is there some Revit efficiency I can harness to
quickly copy the room tags up the tower, floor by floor?
*Nicholas Iyadurai
Message 3 of 21 (127 Views)

Re: Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

06-02-2006 07:41 AM in reply to: rumbleseat
You can try this too:
1. Copy the first room w/tag in 4th floor (say room 4001) to the next level
by Edit>Paste Aligned.
2. Rename / renumber that tag (for instance change 4001 to 5001.
3. Now copy all the remaining tags w/rooms and paste aligned.
4. RVT should automatically name them in the 5 series.
--
Nicholas Iyadurai
St Louis, MO
wrote in message news:5192549@discussion.autodesk.com...
I just correclty tagged 90 rooms on the 4th floor of my building. Floors 5
through 8 are identical. Is there some Revit efficiency I can harness to
quickly copy the room tags up the tower, floor by floor?
Valued Contributor
rumbleseat
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎07-11-2005
Message 4 of 21 (127 Views)

Re: Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

06-03-2006 02:04 PM in reply to: rumbleseat
When I do this copy and paste procedure, the pasted rooms fail to find their boundaries and every tag says "Room not Enclosed"

Any thoughts?
Valued Contributor
rumbleseat
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎07-11-2005
Message 5 of 21 (127 Views)

Re: Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

06-03-2006 05:52 PM in reply to: rumbleseat
Many of my room tags have alpha characters in them. WHen I copy the entire floor composed of room tags like 04-440T, I get ninety rooms with tags like of-440WWWWWWWWWW.

Any help would be appreciated.
Valued Contributor
rumbleseat
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎07-11-2005
Message 6 of 21 (127 Views)

Re: Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

06-05-2006 09:00 AM in reply to: rumbleseat
(bump)
Valued Contributor
rumbleseat
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎07-11-2005
Message 7 of 21 (127 Views)

Re: Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

06-11-2006 01:50 PM in reply to: rumbleseat
It doesn't correctly rename the tags.
I'm having to hand correct ninety room tags per floor.
There's gotta be a better way....

My room # format is:
ff-nnn
ff = two digits per floor (i.e. 04)
nnn = three digit room number

this seems to confuse it. although I can control the ff #s, I get absolutely random results in the nnn portion.
Distinguished Contributor
sbrown
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎04-04-2002
Message 8 of 21 (127 Views)

Re: Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

06-12-2006 11:47 AM in reply to: rumbleseat
Unfortunately, you have to manually number the rooms. It is just the way it is.
Valued Contributor
rumbleseat
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎07-11-2005
Message 9 of 21 (127 Views)

Re: Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

06-14-2006 10:38 AM in reply to: rumbleseat
dang!
Valued Contributor
rumbleseat
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎07-11-2005
Message 10 of 21 (127 Views)

Re: Repeating Rooms (Tags) on Other Floors

06-14-2006 10:53 AM in reply to: rumbleseat
but just to belabor the point...
When you copy the number it makes up new numbers. There MUST be a protocol it's using. Is that accessible?
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.